Fish drying in Mokpo port and perishing tradition

in #travel6 years ago

Mokpo city is a port. It is located at the south west end of Korean peninsula.
Since the ancient times, Mokpo have been famous for the fishing industry.

Un until now, the fishery is taking the important portion in the composition of Mokpo industry, even though the fishery is not much important like before.
Now in Mokpo, the main industry is the ship building and the related industry to the shipbuilding.

P1191027.JPG

P1191026.JPG

While looking around the museums and something interesting, I tried to look over the traditional appearance of Mokpo city. I though the original appearance of Mokpo could be found not much in the contemporary industry as in the traditional way of living.

P1191011.JPG

That’s the reason I walked around the old port of Mokpo.
The size of old port in Mokpo was small.
There were lots of fishery ships. Most of those ship were small size for coastal fishery.

They told that the fishery was no more profitable business. Besides the fishery is dangerous and difficult. Young generations do not want the fishery for their job any more.
I could see the lots of ship for sale by the port.

But life continues. I could see lots of fishes being dried here and there.
Winter is the best season to dry fishes. The cold wind from the sea was inevitable to dry fishes. Dried fishes were best source of having protein in winter. And there were no flies in winter.

The dried fishes were essencial material for the culinary in Korea. Well dried fishes could be preserved for a long time.

Along the beach and by the street, there were lots of boxes to dry fishes.

P1190978.JPG

P1190980.JPG

P1191017.JPG

P1191029.JPG

P1191028.JPG

It would be difficult to look at this scene of drying fishes anymore.
Only old people were working for this work. As time passing by, no one would dry fishes anymore. Then how can I taste the dried fish ?

Perishing tradition always made me sad.

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

세상이 다 그런가 봅니다.
농촌인 제고향에도 젊은 사람이 없고
농업을 직업으로 택하는 젊은이가 없듯이
목포항도 그런 모습이군요 .
팔려고 내놓은 배들
생선을 말리는 모습
사람들이 없는 거리
누군가의 머리속에
누군가의 가슴속에
아름다운 모습으로 남을 것들.......

Beautiful port

Fabulous . How people differ in their way of life
Simple but lovely
Thanks for sharing your work .. wonderful pictures.

I wish to visit this place. Nice capture

lol
Thank you

Wow, I love dried fish.How many delicious fish in the photo !;)Beautiful post and photo!

рлрлр.jpg

People still dry fish for sure for as long as they're available in the market. It's not reserved for poor countries either in my opinion because it's a method of preservation that gives it a unique taste. It's not only about being cheap. Some even prefer dried fish to red meat.

Maybe in the future mockpo will turn into a something better like an industrial zone with a little fishing industry on the side @slowwalker I also used to dry some fresh fish many years ago and fry them crispy, it is really delicious with rice.

before consuming very hearts do not and pay attention, most fish in drying lot contains preservative which harm body for us

@slowwalker....... I m totally veg. But the images posted are looking nice. Now a days no youths wants to involve in the business like fishing. Hhhmmm.......
Please see my last post..... U will get a surprise at last and you will definitely call me a mad. Hhhmmm.
https://steemit.com/photography/@lachitsarmah/smartphonephotography-open-the-post-and-enjoy-the-nature-4a1ee5847de53
20180131_140122.jpg

This is very useful for me to continue the journey, maybe I can do the steps that have been seen with a very beautiful photo
@slowwalker
Good job and well done. You've presented a photo representing both of them. An amazing photo result. Don't to visit my blog for my latest post

hey watsaap :)
komik-balik[1].jpg

That fish got style!

We call it Engkeut Masen in aceh

Beautiful fish, beautiful places, beautiful photography. I like Korean food.

Congrats on your success. you have a really good blog,

a very meaningful journey and lots of industry experience. drying fish now is already a tradition for fishermen who want to progress. this is a good post my friend like to post your travel this. thanks for sharing. happy to follow you.

Saya sependapat dengan anda 👍

You're so right. It is always a great challenge to preserve and continue ancient traditions. We should all try our best to support the preserving of the ancient traditions...
I've never seen so much dried fishes before ;)

Wow. They should really not allow the bussiness to die down. Here in Nigeria, other than dried fish, we also smoke them. And to prevent the business from perishing, children are thought and its gradually urning to a family business. They can try that at Mokpo too

Come visit my blog
럭키걸의 블로그에 놀려오세요. 이것저것 정보들 올리고 있어요.

Younger generations are technology and computer crazy now.. No one wants to get involve in farming or fishing anymore.. Indeed old traditions are perishing rapidly across the globe.. Thanks for sharing mate @slowwalker

Yes, there will be no dried fish soon. Maybe big companies do, but it will not delicius ! 😒

Perishing tradition always makes me sad, too! Like, in India...some girls in their 20s don't know how to wrap a traditional sari anymore. I went there, and only the older women could help me.

I felt really heartbroken that maybe in the future, no one would wear saris anymore...and they are such beautiful traditional Indian clothes!

I also feel sad about the fish and when the environment is destroyed. I hope someday we can change that.

Do you like to eat dried fish? I've never done it yet.

It would be truly sad if nobody dries fish anymore but why doesn't the younger generation have interest in it. Isn't it lucrative? Fish business is very lucrative in my country Nigeria and astonishingly many young lads are owning ponds All over because we don't have much waters.

Dried fishes are always tastier in soups over here. I'm sure the custom will somehow be resurrected again if awareness can be created and fish becomes lucrative business over there.

oooh good point. I wonder why they don't have interest...

good post friends, I like.

What about the price ?? It's costly ?

It is up to us to try and fit the traditions that we feel are relevant into our modern enviroment. Unfortunatelly most will be left behind.

Many other cultures are perishing also, it sad but until we are ready to work, teach and tell the ignorant people the benefits for it, nowadays children can no longer speak Their native language our cultures are getting extinct......but I believe to every problem there's a solution..........

Fishermen are very good people
They are very useful on this planet
Please i have something for you
https://steemit.com/newstory/@showboybeezy/the-adventure-of-tom-sarvyer-season-1-episode-1

posting a very good friend ,,,!

I agree with you friends, makpo is famous for fisheries, because it has many asep tersjat, and can be cultivated

From every trip you always find something very unique. Yeah it looks like someday you will not find such a scene again. Everything is gone by the times. But I hope everything preserves this very interesting thing. Thanks for sharing and allow me to share for my followers. May be always happy for you @slowwalker.

The fishes looks yummy already, would love to live around this region with soo much to eat...

Unfortunately some good traditions have faded, and this is mainly due to technological development

wow.... amazing photography, i like this traveling..... and also i appreciate this food. best of luck dear....

My grandma usually dries fish. It tastes actually good and it can be a nice snack haha

I agree with you friends, makpo is famous for fisheries, because it has many asep tersjat, and can be cultivated.....

wow a place that advanced and famous for fishery, success always @slowwalker

It seems good weather, is it summer in those pictures?

Thanks for ur sharing @slowwalker.

In my country, Aceh (Indonesia) there is a song lyrics that read: My Grandfather Is A Sailor. Until now, the sea provides a lot of fish and sustenance for the fishermen. Some go to sea one day, there are seven days and there is one month depending on the size of their boat.

Wow.....excellent photography, very nice travel, beautiful post, thanks for sharing

it's like in the Philippines too bro. The fishing industry is on top too..
Who's people out there?

Seeing old traditions vanishing makes me sad too, no matter where it is. I think its always worse in urban environments where globalization and consumerism settle much faster than in rural regions. Mokpo is a relatively big city with 250,000 people so I am afraid the tradition of fish drying might be lost forever there soon :( Glad you told us about that. And nice shots btw ;)

I doubt it would be lost forever. I think somebody will keep it alive. If less people do this, then who ever decides to keep it going can charge higher prices.

I thought drying the fishes would make them go bad and poison you. This is an interesting new information for me.

I really enjoy your pictures and the way you organize the images and the text. I try to learn form you when I make my own posts. And - thank you for sharing so many interesting pictures! I like travelling in Asia, and your posts motivate me to plan for another tour. A question: What about flies (and other insects), will they stick to the fish when the fish is exposed like I see from your pictures?

Postingan yang menarik..

very nice picture.. in Aceh, as well as many vessels as small as it is.

This place is so beautiful .. thank you for share

There are 4 pages
Pages