My Second Glass Bridge in China. This why you should try them out.

in #travel5 years ago

Glass bridges scare the heck out of me but that’s half the fun isn’t it.

OMG OMG OMG

Not far from the North Korean border is a HuanRen (桓仁) a small county of Benxi (本溪) in Liongning China.

I was invited to go on a tour by school I worked for in the past. It was teachers and staff. Of the 37 people who came only 4 were men, so many women. This school has 3 locations so I hadn’t really even met most of them before. I certainly had no idea there were so many teachers.

It started with a boat ride up a river. I had never experienced this part of China’s countryside before. This place is about a 5 hour bus ride from Dalian, luckily the school organized it all, food, hotel and transportation. I finally got to experience a Chinese group tour after 8 years being here, no I know what the hype is about, convenience.

So many stairs I had to climb. Just when I thought I was at the top, I turn a corner and more stairs. Even when I saw a sign that said ”This Way to Back Down to Dock” there were more stairs going up. The good news is I must have lost weight and I did feel like I got some good exercise.

Considering the spectacular view from the top, it was all worth it. Usually when I see China’s rural areas it’s all farmland with small villages scattered throughout. It was such a treat. I do remember living in LiShui which has so much land similar to this untouched countryside.

I should also mention it was coincidentally also my birthday. It was such a nice adventure for my birthday.

I actually, almost, didn’t feel like I was in China. It had more of a Canada feel to it. I’m so used to China being big cities with hustle and bustle. It was borderline tranquil if not for all those damn stairs. LOL

Sort:  

I seen some scary footage of these kind of bridges.
Some ladies really freak out

Yea, I saw some people quite scared at the bridge in ZheJiang province. This one only my boss was terrified, she also was the one to choose this for the trip. lol One part of the bridge has TV screens under the glass and speakers so when you walk on it, it looks and sounds like it's breaking. lol. But being scared is what makes it fun. I still don't go on rollercoasters, those are actually dangerous.