Wuhan (武汉) One of the World’s Oldest Cities, With a Modern Touch. 100% Solarguy Photo Journal.

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Such an amazing, diversified city, that has the China we see in the movies and modern Country China has become today.

With a population over 10,600,000, it’s also one of the biggest cities in the world. It’s no wonder it has such a variety of different cultures and amazing foods that come with them. I saw some of the traditional parts of the city, touristy type places, the bright lights of the skyscrapers and enjoyed some delicious Xinjiang food and entertainment.

It was just a weekend trip, 6.5 hours high speed train ride (each way), nice hotel, great company, some new wonderful things to discover and experience. The distance is what makes the trip more memorable doesn’t it? Half the adventure is getting there. At least this train ride was during the day so I got to see the countryside of China along the way.

The first night I didn’t see much other than the subway and the hotel. I arrived kind of late but they gave me a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite instead of the 1 bedroom I preferred, I was not impressed with this particular upgrade during this particular trip. However, it was still an excellent suite, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and big living room. Come to think of it, I should have taken some pictures, but I wasn’t there for the room so it slipped my mind.

The next day, Saturday, I checked out the famous Yangtze River which is home to freshwater dolphins and spectacular views. I walked along the path for a couple kilometers seeing some impressive statues that dwarfs most I’ve seen elsewhere in China or Canada. Too bad it was cloudy but on the bright side the muggy day had nothing but great feelings and kept the overwhelming crowds at bay.

After the stroll, I found my way to a Xingjiang restaurant with live dancers for dinner. No! The live dancers were not ’the dinner’, they performed for us during dinner. I skipped the comma on purpose; live dancer, during dinner. OK? Haha. The food was delicious, the meat was so fresh they butchered the goat on demand at the grill. The na’an wasn’t the best it could be but still decent soft and made in the traditional way.


(sorry for such a horrible photo.)

Xinjiang is a proud part of China. It was once the capital of China thousands of years ago. Though the culture today is quite different than modern China, it still is an integral part of its heritage. The people have such a great sense of humor, friendly hospitality and a natural loving nature that fits right in with the rest of this amazing country.



(Had to get my photo with these lovely ladies)


(Why not have a cup of tea and get to know each other as well?)

Next, back to the Yangtze River after dark, for the uniquely lit up skyline. By this time it was raining, just a little but either way still such a sight to be seen. Well worth it I must say. This trip I had someone to hold the camera for a change, what a treat. Still, sometimes a shameless selfie is just the right angle and captures the perfect moment.

Wuhan is a magical city. It has everything you could expect a mega city to have, with that great feeling the Chinese call 安全的感 (Ānquán de gǎn), “safe feeling”. If you ever make it to China, it is a must see place for sure. I promise you won’t regret it, it is my second time here, though last time I was on a business trip and I didn’t get to see it the way I did this time.

Welcome to Wuhan.

Sort:  

I want to visit that beautiful romantic city one day. Will you be kind to take me a tour? I want to meet your beautiful friends too =)Apart from distance what makes a trip more memorable are the sweet unforgettable moments you had, that moment when your heart sings with joy and you feel like the time has stopped all of a sudden and all you hear is your racing heart beat. That's the perfect moment to take a photo. Of course when a beautiful special someone holds the camera for you too, what a sweet treat indeed. ❤

Wuhan is a little far from me but I had a Chinese colleague that said the women in Wuhan are the prettiest he has seen. Is there any truth to that? 😏

Well, I met a beautiful girls there, but they were not from Wuhan. lol. There are pretty girls all over China, really depends on your tastes and who you meet.

Which city are you in?

I'm in Qinhuangdao, Hebei.

Oh nice, I lived in Dalian for 6 years until a couple months ago I went south. I was just across from the Bohai Sea from there.

great pics.

thanks. i haven't been on here much lately. But I feel like steeming again. I hadn't noticed you were writing here again either until commented. Will checking in more often.

Welcome to Steem solarguy! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (46.23%)
Summoned by @solarguy
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh