Thoughts #3: Solo Travel.

in #travel7 years ago

Travelling solo can be a pretty daunting prospect. The challenge of entertaining yourself and being dependent on no one but yourself is one you need to learn to embrace.
Now, I have never solo travelled but I plan to do so for a few months in the coming year and these are a few things I'm looking forward to the most.

  1. There is no-one to hold you back but yourself.
    Travelling solo means you are the only one making decisions, you decide where you go, what you do and who you decide to make companions of.

  2. Meeting new people.
    Humans are a social species and travelling solo means you are going to be forced into meeting new people. Travelling means you're going to come across people from all walks of life, and getting to know these people and sharing experiences with them can be a very enriching experience.

  3. Getting out of your comfort zone.
    Good things usually happen when you leave your comfort zone, when you try something different. Our lives are often structured and we do the same things, go to the same places and meet similar people. Leaving this sort of comfort can lead to to memorable experiences.

I hope to look back at this post after I've come back from my adventure and see if I have gained what I thought I would.

Thanks for reading!

solo-travel-7-660x440.jpeg

Sort:  

Interesting post.

Hmm... I am getting out of my comfort zone when I travel with a company. Trying to work out compromises all the time is tiring and often spoils all the fun.