"Wait. You wanna move WHERE?"

in #travel7 years ago

I asked...
"Costa Rica" he repeated.
What?? WHY?? Isn't that like a 3rd world country?
And so it began...

I agreed that since I had never been there, and he had, many times, that we would take a 10 day trip to check it out.

The day of departure finally arrived. Everything was planned out. Rental car reserved in San Jose, hotel accommodations (at least for the first few nights) were arranged. We would arrive at the Arenal Observatory Lodge and Spa before dark. And you've probably have heard the saying, or some version of it... "the best laid plans...." . Thanks American Airlines.

We finally arrived in San Jose, CR late in the afternoon. By the time we cleared immigration and customs, picked up the rental and hit the road, it was dusk. Driving through San Jose is challenging to say the least. Although we were mostly on the "highway", it was like nothing I have ever experienced. And that was on flat ground. We began heading up the mountains for what is stated to be a 3 hour drive. In optimal conditions. Which we were NOT experiencing. The roads are rough, dark and winding. Add to that the fact that now it was raining. And people walk in the middle of the road, in dark clothing, with no lights. Oh, and there are lots of bridges. ONE LANE bridges. You have to take turns crossing depending on who's there first if there's no sign. If vehicles have headlights, most of the time they're pointing in the wrong direction, including directly in your eyes. Then there are the semi trucks. They'll pull right up behind you and ride you're tail until you move out of the way. All I can say is that my husband is an angel. He couldn't understand why I was so freaked out, and he pulled me off the ceiling more than once. Honestly, if I had had to drive, I would've curled up into a ball on the floorboard and cowered until daylight. FINALLY, we reached our destination. Luckily my pleas went unheeded, and instead of pulling over at some unknown motel along the way, we, by the Grace of God, made it to our hotel. A bottle of wine later, I finally relaxed enough to fall asleep.
Stay tuned for part II.