What it's like in Darien, Georgia - A Small Marina Town

in #travel7 years ago

Darien1.jpeg

It’s eight thirty on a Saturday night as I sit here, listening to the sounds of Darien, Georgia. I’m alone in the apartment, being that my roommates from the past few weeks have already left. I have the sliding door open to the screened-in balcony, letting a bit of the cool air inside.

Outside it’s dark, with the moon filtering brightly through the heavy clouds, and the wind whipping the tall marsh grass along the Darien River outside my back door. The fishing boats are lined up at the docks, gently swaying on the ripples.

I can hear the slight murmur of cars driving across the lone bridge leading into town. A drawling country song echoes (surprisingly loud) over the silent water from the locals singing karaoke at Skipper’s next door.

Skipper’s Fish Camp is packed almost every night with people. I don’t know where they all come from, but it’s hard to find a parking spot around dinner time. They have live music every Wednesday night which packs the place even more, and a waterfront deck to eat, drink, and be merry.

The song just ended next door and I can hear a few people cheering. Looking out at the calm water at night… this is one of the most peaceful moments there is.

I’ve been living in Darien during the past few weeks for work, but you don’t have to live here long to learn about this tiny, charming town.

Darien3.jpeg

I’m not going to go all historical on you because honestly, I didn’t visit many of the historical places, and you could probably learn about those yourself. Just take note that this is a very old, small town with a lot of old buildings and lots of history! Many people have lived here their whole lives, and they can tell you a lot about the place. I did pull over and look at the Butler Plantation and picked up some pamphlets about Altie, the Darien Sea Monster! (Kinda like the Loch Ness Monster, but Darien’s version). There are a lot of wildlife reserves and bird watching stations around for observing the marsh. The smallest church in the America is also nearby, which can seat about 12 people.

If you like to shop locally, stop in to Turnip Greens Country Store across from the gas station because they have a variety of fresh veggies depending on the day. I stopped in there to pick up some gnat spray because THERE ARE SO MANY GNATS EVERYWHERE! You NEED bug spray every day if you’re outside. They’re not just down on the docks. They also hang out… well, anywhere. They are not fun! The crew went back home with so many gnat bites, I felt sorry for them! Some of the local fishermen can stand there with gnats swarming around them and not blink an eye, but I HAVE NO IDEA HOW! :o The gnats even make front page headlines of the local newspaper. “Quiet Valona Sunday afternoon with biting gnats turns into commotion”. Did you hear the “with biting gnats” part??? Yes, they are residents too! The area is made up of flat marshland, so it make sense, but I don’t want them around!

Darien2.jpg

It makes this screened-in porch a necessity. Otherwise I don’t think anyone would want to sit outside. Which is a warning for anyone sitting outside at Skipper’s. It’s probably wise to wear some bug spray.

There’s another restaurant called B & J’s Seafood in Darien which is also ALWAYS packed at meal times. I went twice, and both times it was only by the grace of the friendly staff that we were allowed to save a table for our group. Because everyone who walked in wanted the one empty table I was sitting at. They often have a buffet for lunch and dinner, which draws a lot of people in. The second time I went, it was such a challenge to walk from my table to the buffet and back because of the congregation of people PACKED in the front door, standing around waiting for a table. Our crew agreed that they really need to expand for how much business they have and the inconvenience it causes of maneuverability not just for the customers, but I can only imagine how much the staff has to deal with it.

There’s also Nautica Joe’s Cafe, which seems unassuming because it’s attached to the gas station, but once you step inside it’s like you’re at a nice little dairy bar! If you’re in the mood for Mexican food, Blue Bay Mexican Grill is another good stop. Otherwise, I went to Brunswick to pick up food from a lot of restaurants (Copper Pig BBQ and Toucan’s Ale House were delicious!) because they have a huge variety, and also a lot of stores including Walmart, Target, etc. for shopping.
It’s getting a bit too cold out now so I’m going to shut the door.

I’d say Darien is a fun place to visit for some historical sightseeing and a nice lunch and/or dinner. Overall, it’s been a nice stop in Darien. Onward!

Darien4.jpg

Sort:  

You must have so many spots to fish and the seafood over there must be really fresh!