Our Rarotongan getaway - Day 5

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

We woke up Wednesday, extra early, to drop off our scooter and then boom - ready to rock and roll.

Buggy Time!!
We had planned to do the Raro Buggy Tour today which again, was an all day thing and lunch included (I love it when food is free!! haha) I didnt take my phone out because we had been warned there was about a 199% chance for mud and dirt haha And lucky enough man, soaked!! But was super fun. Plus Hine took her phone so we got a few pics here and there!

It was quite educational too though, our tour guides lead us through different parts of the 'local's territory' stopping and speaking at each check point. We were taken to this coconut oil production shed, named Rito. They dry press coconut oil for cooking, skincare, haircare... everything. It was a very modest shed, just at the back of their home but was so awesome.

We were also guided to an abandoned hotel, which is where the muddy magic began. To cut a long story short, an italian mafia member bought the Rarotongan land and built a massive amazing resort right on the coast of the lagoon in hopes to launder money through the hotel and keep up to his dodgy ways. The resort was about 90% finished, with all electricity, power and water connected, but once the locals found out what his intentions were, they ran him out of Rarotonga. The land has never been touched since but has turned into somewhat of a tourist attraction itself.

We were then taken to a nearby driving range and given the chance to win our money back IF we can get a hole in one.

5 golf balls each and no refunds.

Our included lunch was at The Mooring Cafe and we had the most delicious sandwiches I have ever eaten, I feel. For any seafood eaters, apparently the famous Mahimahi Burger was a hit but me, being the non-eating-seafood-gal that I am, I got the CLT - Chicken, Lettuce and Tomato. Delicious!! 15/10


Tonight was our Party Bus night which started at 7pm so to prepare, we needed to line our tummies and start the pre drinking. There was another burger joint which also claims they are the 'best burgers on the island' and being the food lover that I am, I wanted to see if they were right.

Vili Burger
So fucking delicious!! Soo much better than Palace Burgers, I'm sorry to say. Just delicious!! huge burgers, you dont even need fries, and its got that homemade quality to ever single burger. What I also find incredibly ingenious is the Vili Burgers are wrapped in tinfoil!! Bloody genious!! So my burger was still super warm and tasty. Oh I love them. that special vili sauce though. Straight 100/10 😍

Rehab Party Bus - Pub Crawl
So they picked us up at 7pm and the fun began 🎶 We were taken to about 3 different bars and then the last stop was the Rehab Bar. It was fun. I got drunk. We all got drunk. It was a really fun whanau night out on the Rarotongan town

BUT Hine's sister on the other hand... got way too bloody drunk. And when we were all trying to look after her and get her home safely, she wanted to be a like a dickhead.

She bit me. She fucking bit me. She's fucking 30yrs old and she bit me enough to make my arm go blue and purple.

I got so worked up after that, I wanted to knock her lights out. Lemme tell ya, the rage was real. And lemme also say, the bruise IRL was definitely a lot more darker, bigger, rounder and bloody sore!! No violence occurred on my part in the end however, mainly because my partner took me home to calm down - which was probably the safest thing to do for all of us. But really, act your age mate.

Apart from that bloody twat, everyone still had a mint night out together and lots of fun was definitely had.


Day 5 done.

Check out my video of our Rarotongan getaway here.


And please check out my other Rarotonga posts.

Sort:  

Looks like some fun :)

It most definitely was @sunnypictures!! 😁 Thank you.

:)

This comment has received a 1.30 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sunnypictures.

This post received a 3.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sunnypictures! For more information, click here!

Where's Rarotonga?

hey @expat-teacher, I'm glad you asked 😁 Its a wee little tropical island in the southern hemisphere of the world, mainland of the Cook Islands - Quite close to New Zealand (which is why I think so many kiwis go there).

Heres abit of a visual for you my friend.

I suggest this little one on the first post, next time =)

You know what, that is a brilliant idea! haha I just assume because Raro is so familiar to me that everyone would know what and where I mean lol

Apologies and thanks @forykw

Nice photos of your travel.

Thanks @jose.rodrigues09 😊 I appreciate that.