Our Rarotongan getaway - last moments and recap

in #travel7 years ago

Friday and Saturday, our final days in Rarotonga, were spent living the real Rarotongan lifestyle and we did nothing but relax.

Its actually quite interesting to compare their lifestyle to the lifestyles we live at home.

You seem to actually notice and realise that our lives are so unnecessarily busy. That many things that we worry about, arent actually important or as important as we make them to be. That perhaps we are a little to sheltered and being on the island made me realise how fortunate I am and that I shouldnt be taken advantage of that.


I couldnt get any photos underwater but this photo is almost exactly what it looks like 😍 Thanks to Curious Kiwi for the image.

Creepy Crawlies
I havent finished however. The one thing that I couldnt stand, but I suppose I was getting used to towards the end of the trip, was the bugs and the amount of them. I understand staying within a forest, pretty much, all the trees and bush - We were bound to run into a few things here and there but

on the first day, there was a bloody centipede on the bathroom floor.


I was too fucking scared to take a photo of it that day so heres the closest image I have found. I'm not joking, it looked like this. It was dead but nonetheless 😰

Luckily the owners of our holiday home sprayed the house beforehand so all bugs that appeared were dead but omg. I had never seen a centipede IRL!! This is what nightmares are made of. As well as centipedes there were soo many millipedes, geckos,wasps, cockroaches.

You name it, it was probably there!


Rarotonga was such an awesome experience and as much as I loved it I wont completely spoil it for you. You just have to go there yourself!! 😁 For me, however - I'm trying to make the next decision.... where to next??

Thanks everyone who read and upvoted my posts and thanks to those that followed my Rarotongan getaway thread. I hope you enjoyed getting a little taste of Raro!! Mei Taki 🌴

Check out my video of our Rarotongan getaway here.


And please check out my other Rarotonga posts.

Sort:  

Yesss! have been dreaming about Raro! Especially in this cold NZ weather!!

its such a perfect getaway when were right in the middle of winter! You should totally do it @kaykunoichi 🤣

I am going to :D :D :D

Awesome!! And then post your experience on here so I can check it out and pretend for a minute that I'm back there again 😍 haha

Have followed you gf!

That thing is HUGE!!! 😧

huge and wriggly 😩