Travel and Life things: Tales of Cala Vadella, Ibiza

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

They say that leisure is a luxury only affordable by the elites now. I on the other hand don't second that opinion. In my view, leisure and fun can be experienced by anyone who has a mind open enough. You could be sitting in a café sipping the usual black coffee and reading a cheesy novel and even that can elate your happiness to cloud nine.


Moment of truth

Though I can't be a liar right now, I am this happy because I'm laying on a beach in Ibiza, in the sun sipping drinks out of a pineapple looking jar and according to me all of my dreams have come true. I spent the majority of my life with my nose in the books, studying mostly or I would go to weird clubs with my friends on weekends and lose myself there. You know how Berlin can be..

In between all of this, I never had time to just stop or take a pause for a day and think about my life or appreciate what I have now. I never allowed myself to connect with nature, connect with this world. These past few days in Ibiza were a real eye opener. One of these evenings, after one full day of swimming in the sea, drinking and laughing at silly jokes with @sjennon, I finally stood up and walked up to the sea. In that moment something bigger took over me. It was serene. I'd never felt so peaceful in my life. Looking at the sun merging into the sea, leaving red and orange hues in its fall. The soft rustling sounds of the waves as they hit the shore and the immense stretch of the sea - it just seemed never ending, calm. In that moment I realised that we spend a lot of our time overthinking stupid things and not doing a lot of the things that could make us happy. - which often leaves a regret deep inside us.


Ibiza sunset

The world is so much bigger than any of us. It's when you experience the beauty of nature in such vastness that you begin to question everything. Was all that stress necessary? All those hours you spent killing yourself over some work which didn't even bring happiness to you, but only to others. No, it was not.


@sjennon and her new feline BFF

I used to see a lot of posts about how a couple left their high paying jobs and went to travel instead. Articles like these and some more as such used to make me wonder, why on earth would you ever leave such a great paying job just to see this lame world? And now I know why. They probably were tired of making the world happy instead of themselves. And when they got that taste of the tranquility that nature, and seeing the world along with the freedom that it gives, they just couldn't let that go. I don't find the world lame anymore, it's beautiful. Nature can be your ultimate companion because it will become for you what you want it to be.


@sjennon and me chillin' by the pool

Unlike them, I can't begin my adventures yet, but this past week was more than enough to wake me up. They say that on Ibiza island there is place called the magic mountains, known as Es Vedrà. Mythology and legend say it's the home to the lunar goddess Tanit, who is also the patroness of the Ibiza islands. It's also called the home of the sirens and a secret UFO base (lol). I don't know how true any of it is, but they say when you are near the magic mountains you feel the calmness spreading through your body. You are ten times more relaxed and all seems fine with life. Honestly, I cannot deny this feeling, because when I had just come to Ibiza I was really stressed about my work and now I feel like a feather floating on top of foam.

I am basically on cloud nine.


Nearly drowning but I got my pink friend

I wake up to the view of a clear sunny sky warming the waters of the deep blue sea below it. Seagulls singing in a distant place are my alarm more than often. Which makes waking up in the morning a great thing and doesn't seem like work or effort anymore. When I wake up here, I know it's gonna be amazing. The day seems full of promise.


Breathtaking view from our room - THIS is what we wake up to every morning

Today is my last day here and I couldn't help but write about this.

I implore everyone who is reading this, to take such a pause from your busy life. Go see what's out there! DIscover what is real and discover this world. And when you are done, or even during, the Steem community will be more than present to listen to your experience. I would also like to add @firepower you are one lucky beaaaatch to have traveled so much, I hope you can start doing that again soon.

Live long and prosper.
@things out!


Written by @things, 2017. Edited by @sjennon. All rights reserved.
Images by @sjennon, her stepmother and me.

Sort:  

Totally loved this post! I miss hanging out with you both! I look forward to travelling myself but more than that for now, I'd love to see you continue writing more often on Steemit. I really like your style of writing. Have I mentioned that before? :D

Heheheheheh well you just did and I appreciate it so much. I'd like to wrote more often, I've been active recently and I must say I'm enjoying it a lot. Steemit rules!

Oh and yes you should come to Berlin again and we should hang out! It was a lot of fun last time!

I seriously love this post, even if I wasn't in there :P

It's great here in Ibiza, we should do this more often (please get rich).

Let's enjoy our last day out here <3

Hehehehehhe yes LET'S!

This was so beautifully written! Seems like this little trip might be life-changing for you. :)
How wonderful would it be if we could just travel the world and explore the nature while doing something we're passionate about!

That's the dream. I plan to do this within next two years!

Me too! See you out there somewhere. :)
I like your writing style - poetic with a touch of humor, perfect combination.

Well I'm honored! Thanks for reading.

Also, thanks for the kind appreciation. It means a lot to me when someone enjoys what I write.

Looks great. I've been to Ibiza four times but never visited this place, next time!

Oh you absolutely have to go there.

Awesome tales and awesome pictures! Thanks for sharing your journey with us! So great to see the other places of the world!

Thank you so much. I want to do this more often!

What a lovely post. I have many happy memories of Ibiza, such a beautiful Island

Thank you so much! And yeah once you come here it just stays with you forever.

nice blog :)

Ah thanks!

Love that sunset!

I miss it so much.