Can you guess where this is?

in #travel3 months ago (edited)

image6.png

Perhaps some of you know already, but I wouldn't have guessed if I had never been here.

church.png

image0.png

image2.jpeg

The Mission in San Juan Capistrano is so old and majestic. you would expect to find its like in Europe or Mexico, not in southern California.

IMG_7268.jpg

IMG_7274.jpg

I wasn't able to spend a long time here, but I took some pictures to help me remember what a beautiful place it is.

image5.jpeg

image7.jpeg

image8.jpeg

It is a huge campus, with many fascinating nooks and crannies.

image9.jpeg

IMG_7261.jpg

Around every corner there is a gallery, garden, chapel or other fascinating attraction.

image4.jpeg

image1.jpeg

image7.jpeg

The town itself is full of fascinating old architecture, as well as architecture inspired by the old Spanish style. I stopped at this library briefly for information.

IMG_7224.jpg

I had enough time for a brief tour of the town before my train.

town.png

image7 (2).jpeg

image8 (2).jpeg

image9 (2).jpeg

IMG_7257.jpg

IMG_7330.jpg

Near the train tracks is the oldest neighborhood in California, "The Los Rios Historic District."
image6 (2).png

Los Rios is a charming and unique neighborhood with shops, restaurants tea houses, a butterfly garden and a petting zoo.

image1 (2).jpeg

image2 (2).jpeg

Unfortunately it was a bit too busy while I was there, it was full of young people that looked like they just got out of prom. I will return on a quieter day and spend more time.

image0 (2).jpeg

image3.jpeg

image4 (2).jpeg

image5 (2).jpeg

I stopped for a quick beer before the train ride home. It was good to get out of the house a bit before the rainstorm this weekend.

IMG_7348.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! That's pretty cool!
I wish I could go there someday!!
!wine

Never mind worked on Peakd

Worked on Peakd

I am glad to find a place like that I feel trapped in a place where everything in knew. Downvoted you by accident then upvoted:)