Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon (translation from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Tokyo, ville surpeuplée ? Vraiment ?

Note that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon.


Before arriving in Japan, I thought I had a fairly accurate picture of what I was going to find there. I had read a lot, watched hours and hours of video, chatted with my Japanese teacher. Yet, once there, the feeling is a bit different.

One of the first things that surprised me was to see that Tokyo is a pretty quiet city. We hear everywhere that it is the most populated city in the world, crowded public transport, a crowd that moves like huge waves. For this, it is the image of Shibuya and its crossroads that is put forward. It's a bit like Tokyo Time Square with some skyscrapers and huge billboards.



However Tokyo is not just Shibuya, in the same way that we can not summarize Paris as the Eiffel Tower and the Champs Elysees.

For my first days in Tokyo I had taken a hotel in the Ueno area, a fairly popular place. I walked to Asakusa through the streets of the Japanese capital. Very few cars, and a surprising calm. Certainly electric or hybrid vehicles are quite common, but still. I live in the city of Bordeaux and honestly there are much more traffic jams there than in Tokyo, even during the day.

Quiet streets, and what about public transportation? We all have the image of these pushers forcing people into already crowded subway cars. So crowded that the doors do not close anymore. Here again, the reality is quite different.

In the morning at rush hour, I took several subways, local trains or the Yamanote line (the circular line around Tokyo). It was crowded, but not so tight as to not be able to move. I would say that in terms of attendance is quite comparable to the Paris metro during peak hours. The worst moment in transport was when returning to Tokyo after a loop through Kyoto. I arrived by the Shinkansen at Tokyo Central Station, a Friday night at 6PM. There was a lot of people but the situation was especially painful because I had many luggage with me.

So Tokyo is the largest agglomeration of the world, because it is not a single city but several cities. What is meant by "the center of Tokyo" is the 23 districts circled by the Yamanote line. Originally they were independent cities that were merged together over time.

When we hear about Tokyo, we often refer to the Tokyo Prefecture, which in addition to the 23 districts has 26 cities and villages. But do not think that these are buildings as far as the eye can see. On the contrary, think rather about Tokyo as a huge residential area with pavilions, houses with small gardens and quiet streets.



I went to the Kunio Kobayashi bonsai garden in the eastern suburbs. Once in Koiwa station I chose to walk to the museum, instead of taking the bus. I was 10 kilometres from the hyper-center of Tokyo and the tall buildings are only a distant image. It's quiet, very quiet, almost nobody on the streets (it was around 10AM). I even notice vegetable crops, flower plantations, and we are 10 kilometres from Asakusa.



Tokyo is really a city with a thousand and one faces, several cities in a city. Every neighborhood to discover is a new adventure, and that's what makes the charm of the capital of Japan.

-- @japon


Travel diary in Japan, by @japon

Sort:  

I have heard so much about Tokyo in the past but i never knew this

So Tokyo is the largest agglomeration of the world, because it is not a single city but several cities. What is meant by "the center of Tokyo" is the 23 districts circled by the Yamanote line. Originally they were independent cities that were merged together over time.

This story is really informative as i now understand most of the things I have heard about Tokyo in the past. Thanks for sharing @vcelier, credit to @japon.

No! Definitely!

Reading @japon story caused me to reminisce about my two tours of duty in the Air Force when I was station in Okinawa, Japan. Of course it was an island, but the building structures, etc., remind me very much about Okinawa. I never got an opportunity to go visit there, but I have fond memories of Okinawa. The people were very humble and nice. I am sure they are the same in mainland Japan. Thanks Vincent for posting an English translation.

Loading...

Great story from the land of rising sun. There have been various things heard about Tokyo from media and all. Even i have heard its densely populated, its polluted and noisy. But the experience you are sharing is seriously so heart warming. It looks so serene and Calm by the pics. N i am really happy to see it green. I dont know what the agenda behind media portrayals is but its definitely discouraging. Thank you for bringing the real Tokyo to us. People of Tokyo would definitely be all praises for you.

@vcelier, Tokyo is not a city that can be simplified. There are just too many people for that: talk about the suit-shackled salary man lifestyle and their soul-consuming companies, and Harajuku, where every day is Halloween in their candied streets, refutes them; talk about the Otaku (hyper nerd) subculture with its anime stores and maid cafes, or talk about the fast-talkers hard-drinkers Shinjuku’s party scene and south Shibuya’s art scene, or talk about the workers in factories down the city’s eastern banks for whom Tokyo is still very much a working city.

You really had a great time there

Nice story! Keep going! <3

👍

Very nice photography its amazing look @vcelier

I will soon visit Tokyo to see all this things by my self. Nice pictures,

Traffic JAM is everywhere!

Wow!!!!!amazing photography...i like this traveling...i wait your next post...best of luck....

thank you for sharing @vcelier the atmosphere in japan, this is what i have not come though.

very beautiful pictures.

Definitely one of my top travel destinations. It's an irony that the most populated city is quiet. More like have a lot of friends and you are still lonely. And you did a fantastic job transcribing to English.

One of the city that I would like to visit someday.. thanks for sharing these photos and translating to english. Now it really says that I need to visit the place soon hahahaah

wow nice view.

I've been there in 2006 and I hope I can visit there again! Very nice pictures, Thank you !!

amazing..post dear..thanks for sharing..

Tokyo nightlife is pretty much insane
i've always wanted to visit tokyo

I love the story about this city, i have lived my live only hearing the name of Tokyo on Radio stations and TV stations but you just made my day taken me through the city was an amazing experience i glamour for. Thanks for a good job. Bravo

This just exampliarizes the beauty of travelling.most times we hear stories of places and people to our own little distaste but on making direct contact we discover the natural beauty and nostalgic effect it impacts on us.Truly they say seeing is believing.Tokyo is undoubtedly a beauty to behold.

Ahhh I read this and miss my home :-(

I guess the people living there are so rich that they prefer moving in cars then stubble walking...it is like , every country has its speciality and i guess japan has its own.....it is although a little country but big enough to give pleasure to our senses....

It's cool and beautiful city..seems ecofriendly n natural beauty

Even has crowded population.
Tokyo is still a quiet city
Is that right?

I've only really known the noisy and crazy side of Tokyo. It's nice to hear more about the opposite, quiet side for once.

wao nice your article, I read until it runs out and I love it. so I give upvote. oya I also have some interesting articles. maybe you want to read it

One day am going to be there live cos ive fantasized about seeing Samurai i real life.

nice story...i have a friend and relatives who's working in tokyo japan..like what u have describe tokyo is very nice place...how i wish i can go there..

I think your travel story is very ineresting.and thanks for sharing with us.Always I will try to my best to check your post and give my vote for your nice post.Great story from the land of rising sun. There have been various things heard about Tokyo from media and all. Even i have heard its densely populated, its polluted and noisy. But the experience you are sharing is seriously so heart warming. It looks so serene and Calm by the pics. N i am really happy to see it green. I dont know what the agenda behind media portrayals is but its definitely discouraging.It is too good to be true when you see it yourself. I think it is normal for us to conclude an idea about the place based on what we heard and saw from the magazines, tv etc until we ourselves experience it first hand.
I did enjoy your story.I will soon visit Tokyo to see all this things by my self.I've been there in 2006 and I hope I can visit there again! Even has crowded population.
Tokyo is still a quiet city
Is that right?@vcelier

awww was just there with @ramengirl! :) We just had a Steemit meetup in Tokyo! Wish you could have joined!

I think you're the first person I've seen that shows the quiet side of the Tokyo area, which is nice (๑•‿•๑). Many people seem to focus on the flashy, loud, and bizzare. Of course that's neat to see too, but it's good to be reminded that's not always an accurate portrayal.

I haven't had the chance to stop by Tokyo, but I'll seek out the quieter parts like you've shown us (๑✧‿✧๑).

tokyo - reminds me of the movie "lost in translation" Lol

Wow amazing photography.

Excellent post! Visit my post and see what you think about this great tourist place that I shared. If you liked it, vote! regards

https://steemit.com/travel/@josegrojasl/cable-car-of-merida-cb5c87054b791

Hello friend please please please vote me my 🆔 @mohabat

Nice article! Check out please my article about VLAD the Impaler fortified church. Thank YOU for supporting my work! 🙂
https://steemit.com/architecturalphotography/@catalin2903/xiii-century-transylvania-fortified-church

Very good information friend you can see the great work you have done is to appreciate thank you for sharing with us and for providing the community with quality information greetings, if you can support me with a vote on my blog