My journey to Hell, Grand Cayman, Caribbean – Travel #3

in #travel7 years ago

DSC06497.JPG

Dear Steemit friends, Gemma here, let me take you on a journey to Hell on the island of Grand Cayman in the western Caribbean. Grand Cayman is the largest of the three islands that make up the Cayman Islands. It is a British overseas territory that serves up tropical climate and white sandy beaches. The Cayman islands are an excellent choice for your next island getaway.

To find me, look for my chihuahua

Map.jpg

The capital of Grand Cayman is George Town, you can get to the Cayman Islands either by cruise ship as one of its designated ports of call or by taking a one and a half hour flight from Miami, Florida. There are many reasons that make the Cayman Islands a top choice for a family friendly adventure or a romantic getaway. Swimming with stingrays at stingray city, horseback riding along 7 mile beach and into the ocean, visiting the crystal caves, swimming with sea turtles, fantastic scuba diving and snorkeling or just relaxing on the beach with an exotic cocktail. Please check out my travel blog #1 for Swimming with stingrays and travel blog #2 for horseback riding along 7 mile beach. Grand Cayman is also famous for Hell, that's right, if you have ever wished someone would go to hell, I bet you didn't picture a tropical island paradise.

Hell as you can see on my map as just above 7 mile beach which I'll tell you a secret isn't really 7 miles long

IMG_5064.JPG

Hell is a very bizarre place, seeing is believing. I really never thought I would ever want to go to a place called hell but here I am. Among the lush tropical island is a patch of short, black, limestone formations located in West Bay, it is approximately half the size of a football field. Hell is about a 30 minutes drive from George Town. Visitors are not permitted to walk on the limestone formations, not that you would want to, they look sharp, pointy and extremely hot. There are much nicer, comfortable viewing platforms where you can take in the unusual view.

Here I am in Hell standing on one of the viewing platforms

DSC06494.JPG

Hell was created by salt and lime deposits over the course of 24 million years, and the legend of its name’s origin is controversial. Some say locals believed the place was similar to Hell’s landscape. Others believed that when a British general went bird hunting in the area , he shouted “Oh hell,” when he missed a shot.

The field of black limestone with what looks like the devil formation in the middle

DSC06492.JPG

Whatever the history behind the name, Hell is a popular attraction for visitors to the island. There is even a post office in the Devil's hangout gift shop where you can send postcards from Hell and pick up a devil themed souvenir. Some of the more religious locals refuse to visit the site as they believe it is one of the 13 gates to the underworld.

The devil formation in the limestone which the locals say just formed on its own, somehow I think it may have been placed there to add to the theme of the place

DSC06493.JPG

Hell can be very hot, especially in the summer where temperatures often reach 35 degrees Celsius (95 degrees Fahrenheit) which I supposed you'd imagine to be fairly cool for hell. Most people picture hell as fire and brimstone when this hell is mostly tourists and gimmicky locals dressed as devils which could very well be some people's idea of hell.

The Devil's Hangout gift shop and post office

DSC06495.JPG

I couldn't leave without my own photo in hell, It's my only chance, an angel like me would never end up in the real hell

DSC06496.JPG

Tours to hell can be purchased through your cruise ship shore excursion desk or through various tour companies in George Town and the 7 mile beach area. Hell however is very small, it literally is just a post office gift shop and the crater of black limestone. I would recommend to do what I did and take a taxi tour around the Island. That way you get to see Hell, some of the beautiful beaches and if you are lucky try some of the islands delicious food, plantains are a must try. A plantain is basically a cooking banana, they are usually fried and served hot and crispy. I took a taxi tour with two other ladies and it cost us US$20 each for two hours, of course you can do it on your own but sharing saves money and is a great way to make new friends.

Sancy from Jamaica, myself and Aretha from St. Lucia

DSC06491.JPG

One of my favourite things about visiting the Caribbean islands are the gorgeous people. They treat you like family and are some of the happiest, care-free people you'll ever meet. Definitely all about that island vibe.

Sancy and I in the taxi

DSC06498.JPG

The greatest thing about taking a taxi tour is that you can customize it to exactly where you want to go. Just make sure you agree on a set price at the start of the trip and a definite drop off location. You can always barter the taxi driver's down on price as they want your business. After our trip to hell, the ladies and I visited a cute dock in West Bay where the boat tours out to stingray city sandbar usually leave from.

Enjoying the dock

DSC06489.JPG

DSC06490.JPG

DSC06486.JPG

DSC06488.JPG

The fresh sea air makes me feel like flying

DSC06485.JPG

The next stop of course was a white sandy beach, we decided to go to one along Old Man Bay rather than the more famous 7 mile beach and it did not disappoint. The taxi driver recommended Old Man Bay as he said it was the local's preferred beach. If you want secluded hammocks and a quiet relaxing spot, this is the place for you.

We certainly had a lot of fun

DSC06501.JPG

DSC06502.JPG

DSC06499.JPG

DSC06503.JPG

DSC06500.JPG

Before ending our amazing tour on the incredible island of Grand Cayman, my beautiful island lady friends, Sancy and Aretha introduced me to the true locals, the Green Iguana. These huge lizards are all over the island and are even a delicacy in many island restaurants.

IMG_0349.JPG

IMG_0350.JPG

IMG_0351.JPG

Of course I had to end my time on the incredible must see island of Grand Cayman in the Caribbean by having a tropical cocktail at a Caribbean favourite, Margaritaville. I hope you have enjoyed my blog on visiting hell, thank you for reading and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you, until next time, Vegoutt Everybody!!

Margaritaville, George Town

DSC05921.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @vegoutt-travel! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@newsteemians thank you for the advice, I appreciate it :)

Hey there , I really enjoyed reading your post, it's really nice ans your pictures are amazing .
I would like to officially welcome you to the steemit community, we are really glad you could join us here . Would be looking out to see more not your posts .
You can checkout my page @janrotas I'm sure you would like to read some of my post . Welcome again , have a great time ahead

@janrotas thank you very much. I am very happy to be apart of this awesome community. I look forward to sharing many more of my travel adventures with you

Congratulations @vegoutt-travel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 55.85 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

@statsmonkey wow that's amazing. Thank you! I'm so happy to be apart of the steemit family and look forward to sharing my travels with you

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vegoutt-travel to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you @originalworks I look forward to sharing more of my travels with you

How fun that there is a place called hell! But that little devil sitting on the stones does look like he has been placed there, just as you say :P I love Caribbean beaches, the white sand and blue water is so beautiful. Your pictures remind me a lot of the Dominican Republic. I have never heard about the Cayman Islands before, but now I would love to go there! What language do they speak there? Great post!! :)

@mialinnea I know I thought it was so interesting that there was a place called Hell in such a beautiful location. Yes everything about the limestone crater is authentic except for the little devil I think. The Caribbean is definitely a stunning part of the world and how blessed are we to be able to go there. I haven't been to the Dominican Republic but it's on the list of places I want to go. The Cayman Islands are gorgeous and there is a lot to do. They speak English there, you do have to be careful of their currency though as it's actually worth more than the US dollar but you can pay in US dollar so I recommend that so you don't get ripped off. You can check out my first two travel blogs, especially the first one, I talk about currency and language. Enjoy and I look forward to sharing more of my travels with you

It is indeed interesting! There is a place called hell in a really beautiful nature are in Finland too, because of a big rock formation with a narrow passage - not sure why it got its name. The Dominican Republic is definitely worth experiencing! Thank you for the tip, foreign currencies are always so confusing in my opinion. I had a look at your other posts, you are doing a great job with your posts so far! :)

@mialinnea wow really I will have to visit the one in Finland one day and seek out the tale behind the name. You're welcome, it can be confusing with foreign currency and sometimes people do try to take advantage of tourists that don't know any better. Thank you very much, I really appreciate it. I look forward to sharing more:)

Yes, you should definitely do that some day, I think you would enjoy Finland even though there is no turquoise water or white sandy beaches 😜 You can find white snowy islands instead!

hi dear, I am the best voter and follower all of you and your posts, so be spread your circle of trust. please vote me and follow me. thanks

@asrarahmad thank you for being a follower and voter. I appreciate it. I look forward to sharing my travels with you

Congratulations @vegoutt-travel, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3334 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $751.58. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

@bitgeek thank you so much, that's very exciting. I am very happy to be apart of the steemit family and I look forward to sharing my travels with you

Congratulations @vegoutt-travel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@steemitboard thank you I am so happy to be here apart of the steemit family. I look forward to sharing my travels with you

Did you fly or did you take the sea route to get there?

Hi @superstar2018 I took the sea route via Cruise Ship Carnival Paradise

Bienvenida @vegoutt-travel me encanto tu post, hermosas fotos. Todo super bontio espero sigas disfrutando de esta comunidad! Bienvenida a steemit

@rosanny gracias estoy feliz de estar aquí

Me alegra mucho eso de verdad. Saludos y suerte en esta plataforma

Thanks for the ideal publish! @vegoutt-travel

Hey @vegoutt-travel, Awesome post, I loved your pictures. Especially the one where you wore a red dress. My best color is red so it kinda clicked. The huge lizard was kinda creppy for me lol. Other than that I loved reading through this. It's really well detailed. I'd be looking forward to your future post.

Upvoted! and gave you a follow too. Would be super happy if you follow me @kingbach I follow back. We can grow together. Hopefully you'd take me on your next trip :)

@kingbach thank you so much. I like wearing red dresses but can't do it often because of my red hair. The Iguanas are so friendly, nothing creepy about them. Thank you, I hope you enjoyed my other two blogs as well. I will keep posting about my travels and look forward to sharing them with you

sorry, I just support you with a joke comment. but I think your post is. . . .

@jonas160 thank you very much

That was brilliantly presented, and you sure seem to have had a lot of fun. Awesome one.

@misterakpan thank you so much, I look forward to sharing my travels with you and yes I do have a lot of fun. Life is to be enjoyed right :)

Salute! It came to my attention that you have a new account so I wanted to give you my welcome. This post was nice so I upvoted it and rock on!
As you are new to steemit, getting those big upvotes are gonna be hard so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

@kromosoom thank you very much, I am very happy to be here as part of the steemit family. Thank you for the advise I really appreciate it. I look forward to sharing my travels with you

welcome back from hell hope you had an awesome moment

@adokhai thank you very much, it was an amazing experience and I'm so glad I made it back from Hell :D

Great post. I have visited Cayman Islands once and never heard of this place. I will certainly follow you as you may lead me to places such as this. Thank you for sharing! I would am interested to go back now for a visit there.

@reandeau thank you, I appreciate it. I do like to seek out the beautiful places that are a little less known about. We live in such a diversely beautiful world that must be explored.

Those places are the best to visit. I love exploring and finding places of the unknown. Best wishes in your travels.

That was a fantastic log of your journey! I thoroughly enjoyed reading through it as well as seeing the pictures!

@firepower thank you very much. I look forward to sharing more of my travels with you

wow, it's very interesting! you have done an amazing job with his post Gemma! :)

@reinikaerrant thank you so much. I love to find out the history behind beautiful places, it's ver fascinating to me. I look forward to sharing more of my travels

i am looking forward to read about them! :)
by the way, i've posted a story about Water Lantern Festival today, if you will have some free time please have a look. I'd love to hear your opinion :D

Hello, Dear, I have upvoted you. Can you please also upvote me (& follow if possible)? Thanks in advance.

@space-man

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@space-man/updates-from-dash-conference

Importance of upvoting by jerrybanfield - Ref:

Hell doesn't seem so bad with you as an adorable devil! Great pics, thanks for sharing! Iceland has some really nasty lavafields as well. Check out my Iceland pics in Photography!

@stanimalsalesguy thank you haha I try. I have checked out your Iceland photographs m, great work, keep it up 👍

welcome to the community ,the place of devil is real

@mrblu thank you, I am happy to be a new part of the steemit community

its nice to have a great wonderful amazing woman in this community..such a wonderful character..love also your article

@mrblu thank you very much, I will continue to share my travels

i have poem for you to share with you hope you will love it..by the way im a poet person..^_^ hope you will love it..

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/now-i-found-the-love-on-you-i-will-never-let-you-go-by-mrblu

Welcome to Steemit! I just joined myself about 2 weeks ago and so far so good :) Check out some of my posts if you get a chance!

@jimmylin thank you and welcome to steemit as well!

@ vegoutt-travel, thank you for posting, continue to work my best friend

@bukharisulaiman thank you you I definitely will

Hello, welcome to Steemit. Heartily welcome to you.
We will learn and grow together.
I am new here and I know the fact that it is very tough for a new user to get upvotes. So let's support each other and make Steemit a better place.

Please follow me @arnav1216
and
upvote my introduction-
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@arnav1216/helllo-steemians-my-little-introduction

Thank you,

Thank you @arnav1216 Welcome to steemit! I am brand new here as well. All the best with everything and keep steeming

What the hell? That's the coolest hell I've ever seen

@guitarlots haha it is a very cool place, if you get the opportunity, definitely check it out

Looks like an awesome trip and taht water looks amazing. Did you meet the girls while on the tour or did you take the tour with them? So you went to the Caymans by yourself? Oh that devil looking figure was definitely placed there. LOL

Thank you @geechidan it was an amazing trip, the water was so beautiful and warm. I met the girls on the cruise ship I was travelling on. I just love cruising! Yes I do definitely think the devil figurine was placed there haha

Welcome to the platform if I didn't say so already.

Looks like quite an adventure you had down in the caribbean! I love the pics and hope that someday I can go there myself. Welcome to steemit!!

@jamie-smith thank you I had an absolute blast, I have many more posts to come from almost every island in the Caribbean and Bahamas, I hope you enjoy them. Thank you, I am very glad to be apart of this community

Awesome pics. Love that island - Grand Cayman one of my faves in the Carib along with Curacao !

Que espectacular todo muy enamorada de tu post espero sigas compartiendo muchos lugares hermosos como este, me diverti mucho mucho al leer este post de verdad y encantada de los lugares tan maravillosos que hay en la naturaleza, que sigas disfrutando mucho de esta comunidad

gracias @rosanny , estoy muy feliz de estar aparte de esta comunidad y espero compartir muchos más recuerdos contigo

Me alegro mucho eso de verdad que si. Que bueno los esperare entonces. Saludos!

Thank you @solidus330 it is a gorgeous island. I totally agree, I'm in love with Curacao, I love everything Dutch, I will share my trip to Curacao and Aruba soon, I hope you enjoy them

Looks like a lot of fun. How are the prices for things like food, entertainment etc?

@unprovoked thank you it was a lot of fun. In my first blog travel #1 I talk about currency. It is fairly expensive as the Cayman dollar is worth more than the US dollar so you have to be careful when paying in Cayman dollars however you can get around it as most places do accept US dollars and have a US price list. Food is fairly on par with the rest of the Caribbean and so is entertainment, souvenirs are a little more expensive in Grand Cayman

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

@animal-lovers thank you very much, very happy to be here. I look forward to sharing my travels with you

@pearleu thank you, I know isn't interesting. Thank you I love taking lots of photographs