Adventure 5/30

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Adventure 5: Stringer’s Ridge.

adv 5 stringers ridge 2.jpg

This is a great hiking, trail running, and biking spot in North Chattanooga that features a great overlook of the city, TN River, and Lookout Mountain. It is located right off of Cherokee Blvd on W Bell Ave. The entrance is on the left right after you turn on W Bell Ave. There are several trails from beginner to advanced. The hike to the overlook is on the Cherokee trail which is an asphalt and gravel mixed trail with a steady easy climb to access the overlook. If you are up for a good workout bring your bikes!

adv 5 stringers ridge 1.JPG

I do know from previous experience, biking can get very difficult here so if it says the trail is difficult, do actually believe it. That is hard for me to say as most hiking tails I find that state they are difficult, I do not find difficult.

adv 5 stringers ridge 3.jpg

This view is definitely overlooked. I do not see it photographed very often but it is a great spot.

adv 5 stringers ridge 4.jpg

Chattanooga sure does have great bridges! You can see the Market St and Walnut St bridges here. The Walnut St bridge is a pedestrian only bridge that cars used to drive on long ago. At one point they almost tore this bridge down but were able to get the funding to rebuild and restore. The Market St bridge is the bridge on the right. A neat fact, they raise this bridge every few months for testing. I lived 5 minutes from here for years before I ever knew or witnessed that.

adv 5 stringers ridge 5.jpg

Sunset <3

Chattanooga won best outdoor city in America last year. It truly deserved it! Thanks for reading. Sorry for the inconsistency on my post. I promise I am sticking around though!

-Victoria

Sort:  

Great finds! Magic hour in the smokey mountains? It doesn't get much better than that. We visit Chattanooga a couple times a year and will definitely check out Stringers Ridge when we're there next month!

Awesome! I love the smokey mountains too. If you are on instagram follow vsoutdoorsnaps for some awesome adventure ideas around Chattanooga!