Holiday Destinations

in #travel6 years ago

Best Holiday ever

As 2017 is coming to an end and we're going to welcome 2018 tomorrow night, I was thinking back about the great holidays we've had last year and the ones that we've already planned for next year. One thing led to another where I started thinking back about the best holiday I've ever had.

This is very difficult to say as during your lifetime you do different holidays with different people/groups. You might've done some backbacking alone or with a friend, you might prefer beach holidays over city-trips and as a family it's completely different again.

For this reason I have created 3 categories, 1: Holiday (anything that comes to mind) 2: City-Trips and 3: Special Occasions. Below you can read my 3 favorite by these categories and I would like to know from you what are yours any why, so that we can exchange experiences and inspire each other.

IMG_5438.JPG
Sunset over the old harbor of Tel-Aviv

  1. Holiday: Israel
  2. City-Trip: Washington
  3. Special Occasion: South-Africa

Israel

IMG_5429.JPG
Zippori National Park, once the capital of Galilee with remnants from the Roman and the Byzantine periods. Now internationally renowned for its well-preserved mosaics.

1: This was a difficult choice, we were in Crete last year and for the first time as a family of four, then we had some great family holidays in Holland, Italy and Germany with the in-laws, but I chose Israel for a few reasons.

First of all the weather, it was January and despite the cold weather in Europe we were still walking around in t-shirts and it was never colder than 18 degrees C. We had fantastic food everywhere we went, good quality and innovative. It was relaxing and we had time to visit historical sites, shop and enjoy life, despite traveling with a baby.

To top it all off, the people were friendly and helpful everywhere we went, maybe this was because we travelled with a baby, but it does make your holiday easier and more relaxed.

Washington


012.JPG

2: Why did I choose Washington over Prague, Budapest, Lisbon, New York, Amsterdam, London and many other cities that I've visited? Several factors

Again we felt very relaxed here, despite my wife being almost 7 months pregnant. In comparison with New York the sidewalks were easy to navigate, there is a lot of history and historical buildings to visit and the people were very friendly and helpful. It is also fantastic for shopping and museums.

It doesn't take long to travel the city and the majority of tourists are Americans. There are historical sites and monuments everywhere and many sites that you recognise from films and series, quite surreal to walk around in a town like that. Especially when you visit the Capitol, White House or the Lincoln Monument.

South-Africa

2.36.jpg
My first encounter with a Leopard in the wild

Anyone who has been following my travel blogs knows why I love South-Africa. The place is so diverse with so much to do. We were there on our honeymoon and we started it off with a safari at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, where I took this picture above. Afterwards we did a self-drive holiday from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. We discovered the Garden Route, the Ostrich capital, the southernmost point of the African continent and much more.

The country is fantastic and diverse, we had unforgettable animal encounters, we ate fantastic food, stayed in fascinating places, saw memorable sights and met cool, friendly and open people everywhere we went. The country was everything I didn't expect and will always stay in my memories. I have written several blogs on the destination, so for more details, please read those, here are the links to my blogs about South-Africa thus far:

Blog 1: https://steemit.com/travel/@wolfje/a-wolfs-journey-around-the-world-south-africa-part-1
Blog 2:https://steemit.com/travel/@wolfje/a-wolfs-journey-around-the-world-south-africa-part-2-the-garden-route
Blog 3: https://steemit.com/travel/@wolfje/a-wolfs-journey-around-the-world-south-africa-part-3-mossel-bay-to-hermanus

I'm very curious to hear about your favourite destinations and travel advice. The world is large, let's discover it together!

Doron

Sort:  

You got a 19.54% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @wolfje!

For holiday go to Split, and the city trip-Lodon. I agree with Africa :)

Croatia is high on my list, especially as I'm a big Game of Thrones fan and I love the sites of Split and Dubrovnik that they used to film there. I lived in London, but London is always special and always something different/new to do.

If you come to Croatia, call me. We Will have beer 😀

Will do. Probably not 2018 looks like we have a full schedule of events this year with jubileums and anniversary's that we'll have to travel to, but I'll let you know.

i hope you will enjoy your holiday of 2018

Thank you, you too and happy new year!

Good trip. Good trips to you in the new year

Thank you!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wolfje to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 5.90 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @wolfje. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 30.44 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @wolfje. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

This post has received gratitude of 4.53 % from @appreciator thanks to: @wolfje.

You got a 3.88% upvote from @upme requested by: @wolfje.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Beautiful pictures and great experiences. I wish I had more time for travelling. Your pictures took me right there, thanks.

Thanks, you really should travel. Life is short, enjoy your time on earth as well

Aww thank you, I will, untill then, I shall enjoy your posts.

Good post

Thanks!

Nice post!

Thank you!

Nice post. I am wondering how much planning do you do in advance of every trip.

It depends on how spontaneous the trip is. S.A. we did a lot of planning on what we wanted to see and an approximate route we were going to take. Israel is more loose and spontaneous. City trips I usually get a guide-book to see what's the 'must-sees/do's'. Let me know if I can give you any tips.

Hello, i upvoted your post, keep up good work !

This replay was created using STEEMER.NET Alpha ( more informations about supporting STEEMER.NET Transactor / Wallet / Exchange Project here: https://steemit.com/investors-group/@cryptomonitor/steemer-net-steem-blockchain-transactor-for-windows-android-app-funding-update-243-1200-sbd-28-12-2017 )

Wow I would love to travel more, love your pics. I have followed you, thanks.

Thank you very much! Let me know if you'd like me to write on any specific topics.

I will do, I will think of some for you x

I love the view. Would plan a trip with my wife.

Well let me know if you need and help or tips. What kind of trip is it going to be?

That spectacular photos!

Thank you