Travel Pro Super Foods #8: Pumkin Seeds in Ecuador!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit friends. Today I come to you with a great Travel Pro Super food, pumkin seeds! Not only are they very nutritious they travel incredibly well. You can eat them on a plane, bus, train, taxi, and ferry too. Snack on them in your hotel room while lying down and watching some TV. No need to keep them in a fridge either.

I got these shelled pumpkin seeds at the old world market in Quito Ecuador. A whole pound for just three dollars! Sounds like a "Travel Pro Deal" too! I really like to have a small handful of these before I go to bed because pumpkin seeds are one of the few foods in the world that contain Tryptophan. Tryptophan is found in your Thanksgiving turkey and is the component that makes you feel a bit drowsy. So it's great for helping get a good night sleep.

Pumpkin seeds are also loaded with all sorts of other good things. They are high in magnesium which is great for energy and your heart. It's high in zinc benefiting your immune system. It's high in omega 3 helping your brain function better, lowering inflammation through out your body, and balancing out cholesterol.

It also has a range of other vitamins and minerals that are helpful for many things including a mans prostate, diabetes, postmenopausal women, heart and liver health, depression, kidney stones, and it even can kill intestinal parasites! So for all these reason and more pumpkin seeds are a Travel Pro Super Food! Until next time- Dan World Travel Pro!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Places of Interest #8: Shipwreck Bay San Cristobal Galapagos Islands! Part Two (10 photos, 1 video)

Travel Pro Tip #26 :How to Do the Galapagos on a Budget! (14 photos)

Travel Pro Art #12: Galapagos Elementrary School Murals! Part Two (11 photos)

Travel Pro Adventure #12: Hiking the Southern Coast of San Cristobal Island, Galapagos! Part Three, The Search for the Blue-Footed Booby! (26 photos, 1 video)

Real Life Captured #71: Carnival Parade in Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Two (15 photos)

Travel Pro Gear #8: Three Travel Pro Items You Need to be Travel Pro!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Sort:  

I once got caught up by customs for having these while coming back into the U.S. I also got stuck for a green pepper too. A tiny dog came and sniffed me down.... good times..

Good ole USA. Coming and going from there is very different then let's say a flight from Luang Prabang Laos to Bangkok.

I like pumpkin seeds but didn't realise the details of their nutrition. Sounds like a good excuse to eat more of them! 😊

Thanks for the comment Gillian! Eat those seeds!

One of my favorite snacks! I'm glad it made it to the Travel Pro list! It's such an underrated snack. I'm happy that the spotlight is getting shone on it more these days.

Thanks brother! They are good. So you asked the other day about how I afford to travel and just keep traveling. Well I just posted part one of a series inspired by you! It's going to be a like a 7 part series. The thing is I could write I book about this stuff. So I am....just broken up into 1000 word articles.

Thanks for the inspiration. I'm heading south to Peru today. Finally!

I get asked this all the time too! Hope you don't mind if I also share my tips :) Gah I want to go to Peru and also simultaneously keep traveling Thailand

bro.. I have ate this once or twice. but i didn't know it has this much of good food for our health. thank you very much brother, for sharing this good article with us....

You're very welcome!

Pumpkin seeds are super delicious = ) I eat them from time to time and there are plenty of them over here. You can buy them either in store or you could buy a whole pumpkin and cut it in half - remove the seeds and boil the pumpkin with some sugar in it and cook the seeds as well. Really delicious and great tip !

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

You really seem like quite the pumpkin pro! That's fantastic. Thank you so much for the warm comments. Have a great day! -Dan

sea salt on them is bomb too

And you can eat them whole!

Well, most of the seeds you can, but some people can get fussy about it. We had sunflower seeds as a snack on our last trip (Hong Kong) and Sam eats them whole, however Becca bites it and takes out the small seed inside the seed and eats that. Seems like a lot of effort for something so small! Just eat the damn thing.

Haha. I've toyed with both ways of eating them. When I've gotten them with the shell on. I prefer to get them shelled like you see in the photo. But after fussing around. I just eat them whole if that's how they come. Thanks for the great comments as always!

amazing post :D i always wonder how i should go about eating while traveling. sometimes it seems impossible to get healthy food. i need to check out more tips like this :D

If you keep scrolling down, my blog is full of them!

:D perfect!

I eat pumpkin seeds all the time for the taste and I kinda knew that they were healthy but you just totally blew my mind with this post. I will definitely be incorporating them into my diet more now that I know of the many health benefits. I appreciate that you shared this one. Thanks!- Ivy

That's great! Comments like these keep me motivated to keep posting this kind of content! Thank you!

You are so very welcome! Best wishes on your travels, have fun!

hey, I think you very enjoy that this traveling.

How'd you know!?

Same with the seed of a pumpkin in Indonesia, a fella do you ever eat kuaci pumpkin?
Resteem

No I never have had that. Next time I'm back in Indonesia I'm going to have to meet you! Thanks for the Resteem as always!

Thanks you friend, I will wait for you

👍👍👍👍👍

Wow you seriously do have lots in common with me! Lol this is my go-to travel superfood! Luckily they sell them like crazy in Thailand, too! So I never run out