Travel Reward Points...Get Your Spouse Into It

in #travel7 years ago

points.png
When we started this whole credit card gig, I kind of went it alone. I mean I always talked to my wife about what I was planning to do. We made the decision together for sure, but I don't think it was until we planned our San Diego trip that she was truly sold. As mentioned before, I got sad when we got back from our trip because I was afraid our fun was over. I had officially hit 5/24 (Chase's rule about only approving 5 cards in 24 months) with my 100k crowning achievement of the Chase Sapphire Reserve. Then my wheels started turning, and I did a ton of reading. Okay I was at 5/24, but my wife was at 0/24. After talking with my wife, she got into the fun. She recently officially hit 4/24 with her second Southwest card. I predict by May/June she will have the coveted Southwest Companion Pass through 2018. She is very excited. I mean of course I am excited, but it's very rewarding (pun intended) to see my wife fired up about this. She was also able to get the Chase Sapphire Reserve with the 100k bonus.

That brings me to my next point. Don't worry my single readers...I'll get there. Now that my wife is at 4/24, we are switching gears. My wife runs a business, and there are a ton of business cards out there. Neat thing about business cards? They don't count against 5/24. They still count as a hard pull on your personal credit report when you apply, but they don't count against 5/24. It's a beautiful thing. There is a disclaimer though. If you are at or past 5/24, Chase apparently won't approve you for business cards. Also, Chase and other companies may ask some in-depth questions about your business after submitting your application, so there is no guarantee on approval.

From here on out though, my wife is all business and I am all personal. Since she is all business, she'll be able to jump back into the personal cards sooner than I will. That's okay. We are a team with the sole goal of planning amazing vacations for our family.

So what if you're single? That is where the crazy fun is. I mean don't get me wrong. I wouldn't change a thing. Family travel is my gig. I seek to go some exotic places with my wife and little ones. Plus, I know that this travel credit card racket would have burned me back when I was single. But my goodness I can't tell you all of the blogs and posts of people I have seen traveling first class to Asia or Australia or to some island I've never heard of. You see we are saving our points for 4 people to get to San Diego. That same amount of points may get one person first-class to Timbuktu or wherever the heck you wanna go. It's damn exciting, and if you go somewhere exotic, I wanna hear about it.