Visiting the ancient roman town Volubilis in Morocco during sunrise

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


This is the video I just made using the footage I took in Morocco. This ancient Roman town Volubilis is about 4 km walk from Moulay Idris. Somehow me and @sature woke up with the roosters at 5.30 am that day . So we just decided to stand up and walk to the town that is an UNESCO world heritage site. We started walking at 6 am and arrived in Volubilis at 6.30. We were lucky to get in the sight because the official opening hours were at 8.30. We met the guy who is organizing the tourist tours there and he organized a friend who showed us around. What can I say, without busloads of tourists such a place becomes even more magical. The town is more than 2000 years old and as you can see in the footage it must have been very wealthy. The mosaics that decorated the floors still have their colours after all those years and the last scene shows a olive press. I ate so much olives when I was in Morocco for they are the best ones I have ever tried. They are also one of the reasons that the town became so important for the Roman empire. I hope you enjoy this journey to Volubilis.

PL068448.JPG

I already shared the video I made about the beautiful berber monkeys we met in a cedar forest close to Azru and watched for several hours. Here is the post with the dtube link.
Here is a video of me doing sun salutation in Volubilis. It is really wearth to wake up early when you have such an amazing place to yourself.

Lots of Light and Love <3


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great trip...

It looks beautiful :)

I felt some ancient vibe throughout the video...

Schöne Einblicke, macht Bock mal selber hinzufahren!

Lohnt sich auf jeden Fall. Moulay Idriss ist auch eine sehr schöne Stadt. Vielleicht mache ich auch noch ein Moulay Idriss und Wanderungen in der Umgebung Video.

Sehr gerne, werde es mir sicher ansehen!

Wow what an awesome experience! One of my dreams one day is hopefully to travel to places like this :) I practice sun salutations daily doing one for each name of the sun:
Om Mitraiya Namaha
Om Ravaya Namaha
Om Suryaya Namaha
Om Bhanavay Namaha
Om Khagaya Namaha
Om Pushnay Namaha
Om Hiranya Garbaya Namaha
Om Marichaya Namaha
Om Adityaya Namaha
Om Savitraya Namaha
Om Arkaya Namaha
Om Bhaskaraya Namaha

Wonderful! I love to sing this mantra shile doing sun salutation as well <3 I know it a bit different though. My teacher tought it to me like this:

Om Hram Mitraya Namah
Om Hrim Ravaye Namah
Om Hrum Suryaya Namah
Om Hraim Bhanvaye Namah
Om Hroum Khagaye Namah
Om Hrah Pushne Namah
Om Hram Hiranya Garbhaya Namah
Om Hrim Marichaye Namah
Om Hrum Adityaya Namah
Om Hraim Savitre Namah
Om Hroum Arkaya Namah
Om Hrah Bhaskaraya Namah

Your comment inspired me to find out why... I found this article.

Hari Om Tat Sat

This is wonderful, you are a very creative person

Thank you very much <3 The same goes for you <3

Hey bro, muy buen trabajo.! Como decimos en mi país, está brutal! Jeje. Soy nuevo acá en Steemit, y es un placer empezar viendo trabajos así de buenos, interesantes y entretenidos. Suerte, bro. Paz, amor y vida.

Hola ;) Welcome on Steemit ;) I follow you now ^^

Great Post & Video!
Very creative & fun.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Thank you very much for your support and comment <3

I would love to meet someday Marruecos!

nice post dear

Wao, I am hoping to be there some day.

Very very nice.

Würde ich auch sehr gerne mal besuchen!

Ich habe mich Upvote technisch noch zurück zu halten...:-/ doch super das Dtube nun klappt und ihr zwei sehr Mega sweeet auf dem pic aus! Schöne Erinnerung like a vlog diary my dear yogini
@originalworks

There are a lot of places i want to travel to and i prioritize rome and france

good luck in your journey. I think history is intriguing and interesting in all the races :))

Nice Moroco

Very inspiring

Well done video. Nice to be reminded of my trip there many years ago.