Travel around Tanzania. Zanzibar.

in #travel7 years ago

In this post, the animals will not be, since my safari has come to an end and it's time for my beach vacation. Our driver took us to Kilimanjaro airport, and after a short wait, we boarded a small plane and flew to the island of Zanzibar, landing along the way in the capital Dar es Salaam.

Leaving the airport, we found a local resident with a sign on which our names were written. He obligingly loaded our suitcases into the minibus, and we set off. Since we arrived late in the evening, and on most of the island there is no electricity, there was nothing to look at the windows.

Despite the fact that we were occupied already late at night, I took a couple photos from our balcony:

After six days of safari, I finally got enough sleep. Getting up around noon, I decided to start with a tour of the hotel. Going out on the balcony, I found that you can see the sea from it, although there was a note "garden view" when booking. Apparently, the local has not yet begun to raise prices for the "sea view", if in fact you see a small piece of the sea:

Looking around, I went to the side of the restaurant. On the way, I noticed that the territory of the hotel is as clean and tidy as possible:

After breakfast, I finally went to the beach. Of course, for my companions this spectacle was quite familiar, because they were in the Maldives and Bali. But when I saw such a beach, I was just amazed. The striking bright blue color of the water, the very light sand, the palm trees hanging over the sun loungers - it all looked like a picture from a postcard.

The chaise lounges are located on a small elevation, relative to the beach, so that they are not flushed into the tide. On the beach itself, there are local merchants of fruits, souvenirs, as well as barkers for beach parties. On an elevation, they can not be climbed in any case, therefore, in order to attract the attention of the tourist, they whistle. Local guards constantly drive them, so that they do not bother with vacationers.

Toward evening, everyone dispersed by numbers and prepared for dinner, and only the windsurfers catch the waves and the wind of the day:

Before going to bed, I set the alarm for 6 hours to go to the beach in the morning and meet the dawn.

On the way to the beach, I made a couple of photos:

After a short wait, real magic began:

Having been full of photos of the sunrise, I went to the restaurant for breakfast and met this kind of funny character:

Since Tanzania is a former English colony, the breakfasts here are as much English as possible. I was served eggs of two eggs, sausages, bacon and beans. I also cooked a mug of local coffee.

Once again on the beach after breakfast, you can find that the sea has escaped! Such a rapid ebb as in Zanzibar, I nowhere else saw:

Actually, it was every day of my beach holiday. But craving for adventure did not give us rest, and so we set aside two days for excursions, but about this in the next post.

If you liked this post, vote for it and subscribe to @yushkov. It will be interesting!

Sort:  

welcome the land of hakuna matata , glad you were able to enjoy what east africa has to offer, the shots are awesome and the dawn photos are breath taking, sad your vacation ended before visiting the neighbor country of kenya and uganda to experience more adventure

I guess, i'll go to Kenya in about 2 years. I want to visit Nakuru lake there!

you should thats where i grew up, around lake nakuru are a lot of features from menengai crater to longonot crater, then their is lake bogoria to the west which is a lake boiling lake cause it has the breathing hole of menengai crater and on th east are two lake . elementaita and naivasha. lake nakuru has over 200 bird species and is home to the big 5

welcome the land of hakuna matata , glad you were able to enjoy what east africa has to offer, the shots are awesome and the dawn photos are breath taking, sad your vacation ended before visiting the neighbor country of kenya and uganda to experience more adventure

The sunset looks spectacular! It's weird how there's such a drastic difference between low and high tide.