An age we could wander. Travel memories. Cold Carib .

in #travelphotography4 years ago (edited)

At the southern tip of the Windward Islands lies the twin island nation of Trinidad & Tobago. Birthplace of carnival, calypso, and Carib.

I first arrived in the capital, Port of Spain, for carnival 1995. Experiencing for the fist time Soca Monarchs, Panorama, Over The Hill Boys, and Jouvert, it was a a sleepless baptism of rum. The paint and mud had been scrubbed from my skin, and having signed up for a carnival costume with Legends Mas band on carnival Tuesday, under a blazing sun I hit the road.

At some point around the crowded carnival route, I lost Legends, the mas band I had started the day with. Somehow, I found myself in a different band, a mix of masqueraders and stormers, and it was with them that I took to the main Savannah stage.

Chinese Laundry sound system were pumping out Superblue 'Signal to Lara' , the throng of masqueraders rhythmically jumping in unison, when among the dust, heat, sweat, and bodies, I saw a sun-kissed masquerader calmly sipping a cold Carib.

This was my very first Trinidad Carnival, little did i know, 20 years later, I would lead my own Mas Band across the Queens Park Savannah stage.

Camera Canon AE1, 35mm SLR. E6 FujichromeImage 18704.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @ripebanana! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I really want to do the Triny carnival before I'm too old