THe Old Tree

in #tree5 years ago (edited)

There is an old tree in my back yard that when we moved here 17 years ago I did not like. It is older than 100 years. I felt it would take away the sun from my plants and its so old; in fall both mine and the neighbor's yards are filled with leaves.


Every year I planted new plants and some fruit trees, praying that they would get enough sun to bloom. Each year new buds would come up and the fruit trees prosper. Each year I raked and help my neighbors rake so; we became friends.


I'm getting ready to sell my home soon and now as I look out at that old tree I know I shall miss it. For after so many years I realize that old tree has taught me a valuable lesson. I shall not judge just by looking at something because; what I perceive may not be the whole story. When I look out now I wish the old tree could talk and tell me all the things it has seen: the children who climbed in it, the people that it has met, the animals that have lived in it, and the way it felt every time a new family moved in.


I'm really going to miss that tree!

Old Tree
Image Source: Wikimedia

Sort:  

Well Done!

And welcome Aboard Steemit
@bluefinstudios for the @welcomewagon

Small Welcome Wagon.png

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Congratulations @mamma-dukes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@sgt-dan is one of my friends and I just found out that you are his sis! :)

Welcome Welcome Welcome!!!! This post was absolutely beautiful! and I really enjoy how you took a tree to represent so many truths in such a powerful post! Love this! looking forward to hearing more from you :)

Howdy mamma-dukes! What a great story and that photo of the grand old tree is stunning! Well done.
That tree looks like it would be a good climbing tree also!

ty yes it was years gone by now limbs to high.

I love trees. I'd miss it, too.