You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet My Two Favorite Volunteers

in #trees7 years ago

Not sure the one on the right is papaya...that may be the reason...I have one in my yard half blown over by hurricane...it was also a volunteer. My husband figured out the other day what it is .,when he gets home i will ask him and let you know...
Melissa

Sort:  

Nice, I'd love to hear! Though I was fairly certain that it was a papaya, especially since it grew out from a bunch of papaya seeds I'd scraped out from a papaya fruit... which however doesn't prove it 100%. So yes, please tell me what he said about it!

I am her sister, She said it was some kind of flower but i look at it and think it may be papaya, I will tell her to take a picture of hers that is a flower, and see if they look alike. It looks extremely similar. We have a neighbor that also has the flower tree/bush that is not the papaya but they also do not know the name of it...now I want to know as well. Have searched just now and can not find it on line...

My bad, I think after looking at mine again...I think yours is papaya,it is just a different variety, on our walk tonight I looked in our yard at ours (mystery bush)and then my neighbor's 6 mystery tree bushes and they are more woody barked. Sorry for the bad trail...I sure wish I could figure out what that bush is though. I have my sister on the hunt also. They remind me of Castor bean tree but aren't. I may post it and ask someone to identify. There is a site on my facebook feed. This is the one in my yard

And here is one of my papayas
Oh and my husband was no help he just said he saw one in the neighbors yard! LOL
Have a great night!
Melissa