Meet My Two Favorite Volunteers

in #trees7 years ago

I've been meaning to introduce these two beauties here, as I've been meaning to write about lots of other things too. But yesterday I stumbled across this post by @ecoinstant regarding tree farts, reforestation, especially in one place in Cameroon... (read it for yourselves!) So I decided, I should be part of the action, even though the actual thanks should not go to me but to these two guys here (they might be girls, actually, not sure). In any case, I never intended to plant trees, as my roof would never be able to support them unfolding their full potentials. However, once they came on their own, I would not turn them away. Instead I gave them some of the biggest pots I could find (which have been shrinking ever since), and promised to find them a good home where they could stay for good. 

Avocado 

The tree on my left, the one with the many big flat leaves, is my avocado. It grew out of my worm-box a good three years ago while I was gone for a few weeks. When I discovered it, it was already as tall as my forearm, and its roots had grown criss-cross all throughout the worm-box. It wasn't easy to transplant, and since a good amount of rootage was lost in the process, I also removed all of its leaves, save for a small bunch on the very top. At first it was struggling a bit, but once it caught itself, it started growing in all directions. Now it serves as a reminder to have it transplanted in a good place. A lower elevation, and sandy soil are what we're looking for. 

Papaya

The other tree to my right is a papaya, only a few months older than my avocado tree. It came out of the same vermicomposter, though it was much smaller when I transplanted it, and so it also recovered much more quickly. As it can be seen quite clearly, for a three-and-a-half-year-old papaya tree, it looks rather small and criply. A friend of mine on the coast showed me his papayas he planted only a year ago... you need a ladder to reach the fruit, whereas mine don't even dream of flowering. Not that it deserves any less love, but there remains little doubt: it needs a good home on a much lower elevation. Or, and this is our current hope, if another friend completes the greenhouse in her home, this little tree will move into her bathroom.

As for tree farts, these two fellows are doing a great job already. If all goes well, they should supplement it with some nice droppings as well. In any case, I'll keep you updated on the lovely homes these two are bound to find. Stay tuned...! 

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stortebeker to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Loading...

Wonderful! Living beings can be 'accidents' but maybe it makes them even more loveable?

Is life mysterious or mischevious? Maybe BOTH!

Nature works in accidents I love it :)

Not sure the one on the right is papaya...that may be the reason...I have one in my yard half blown over by hurricane...it was also a volunteer. My husband figured out the other day what it is .,when he gets home i will ask him and let you know...
Melissa

Nice, I'd love to hear! Though I was fairly certain that it was a papaya, especially since it grew out from a bunch of papaya seeds I'd scraped out from a papaya fruit... which however doesn't prove it 100%. So yes, please tell me what he said about it!

I am her sister, She said it was some kind of flower but i look at it and think it may be papaya, I will tell her to take a picture of hers that is a flower, and see if they look alike. It looks extremely similar. We have a neighbor that also has the flower tree/bush that is not the papaya but they also do not know the name of it...now I want to know as well. Have searched just now and can not find it on line...

My bad, I think after looking at mine again...I think yours is papaya,it is just a different variety, on our walk tonight I looked in our yard at ours (mystery bush)and then my neighbor's 6 mystery tree bushes and they are more woody barked. Sorry for the bad trail...I sure wish I could figure out what that bush is though. I have my sister on the hunt also. They remind me of Castor bean tree but aren't. I may post it and ask someone to identify. There is a site on my facebook feed. This is the one in my yard

And here is one of my papayas
Oh and my husband was no help he just said he saw one in the neighbors yard! LOL
Have a great night!
Melissa

And I'll be green as an avocado when you start reaping fruit of that volunteer =D

Well, that may have to wait till transplantation. It's growing nicely, but not sure if it would actually flower, let alone fruit. But we'll see...

I hope that it flowers and fruits!!! Did you get the seeds from a nursery (You actually put seeds in that worm-box right, they didn't accidentally fall in)? =DD I read that those from nurseries have a higher chance of fruiting..because at one point, I wanted to sprout avocado plants from seeds of those I'd eaten =DD