I washed my hair with rye flour and this is what it looks like...

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

IMG_3865.JPG

Not bad hey?

Without any conditioning or styling products.
You might ask WHY????, WHY would you wash your hair with flour????
There are some advantages and some disadvantages.

But let me first show you how it's done!

This is what you need plus a little bit of water:

IMG_5589.JPG

Put a spoon full of flour in to a tea strainer:

IMG_0289.JPG

Sift it, to get the husks out, as you don't want them stuck in your hair!

IMG_5032.JPG

Put another spoon full in the strainer and sift again ( if we do two spoons at once the strainer will be too full):

IMG_2930.JPG

Add some water:

IMG_9204.JPG

And make it into a paste:

IMG_3199.JPG

Now you are ready to wash your hair. Just apply it to wet hair all over your scalp and massage it weel in to the skin and hair on your scalp. Then rinse it off.

I noticed my hair felt very silky under the running water when I had rinsed the rye flour off. As if I didn't strip my hair of all its natural goodies. And that is at once the main advantage of using this shampoo. It washes off the acces greass, but leaves your hair with enough of it's natural sebum to keep it healthy. It hasn't got any hormone mimicking ingredients or the harsh chemical laureth sulphate, which gives me an itchy scalp. It is thus not harmful for the environment either and it is super cheap!
The disadvantages are that it looks as if there is a residue on my hair which makes it just the teensiest bit less shiny in my opinion. And there are some minuscule particles that stayed behind after rinsing the flour out that you can see on the shoulder of my red cardigan above. But I guess if you give your hair a good shake or brush it, they will all come out. The brushing will probably also deal with the residue and make your hair shine. The only thing is, I don't brush my hair as it takes my natural curls out. Will I try it again? Probably as I don't eat gluten and I am left with a whole pack of rye flour now! Haha!

I'm planning on trying a rinse with rose water as soon as I get my hands on some rose water and let you know how that works out for smell and shine.

Here you can see my hair in the sun. It's a little shiny non the less right? And I think it looks very clean and bouncy.
Overal I'm pretty satisfied.

IMG_4319.JPG

I hope this was inspiring to you.

Have a great day!

Lots of Love Clara @wombloom

I am a proud member of:

image.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

LOGO-bg-wh-no-outline.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting experiment.

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thanks @anouk.nox and The daily sneak! I feel honoured!

You're welcome!

I have never heard of this... although I do recall my grandma and great-aunt (sisters) using a dry shampoo many decades ago. Wonder if this was the same thing

Where did you hear about this? Just curious

You-tube. No, dry shampoo is something that you sprinkle on top of your hair without rinsing it out. It's supposed to absorb fat and odour without you having to wash your hair. I have no idea why anyone would want that, but maybe it's handy when you had your hair done nicely and don't want to ruin it with water.
You-tubes about making your own dry shampoo are also out there.

I've heard of all kinds of natural stuff to wash your hair with, or people not using shampoo for a long time with great results, but this is a new one to me. Gonna try it one day.. :)

Yes, it's really a good solution actually. My curls are more pronounced then with any other shampoo so far. And so simple and cheap.

Weird that that's possible right? So you're going to continue to wash it with rye flour?

Yes, I'm definitely doing it again!

Have you tried to do a vinegar rinse after washing this out? That might remove the excess residue and give you that shine. I posted about a Kombucha vinegar rinse, but any rinse should work.

I also have curly hair and have been looking to eliminate shampoo as much as possible. I find that putting coconut oil in my hair is perfect to untangle everything (I usually leave it in overnight to condition), then I do a vinegar wash, but that sometimes leaves too much oil. I wonder if doing this then the vinegar wash will work better. I will try.

Is there a reason you chose rye flour? Could it work with other types of flours or do you find rye flour is best?

Thanks. Vinegar seems too harsh for my hair, I will try and rinse with rosewater and post about it. I got this tip about the rye flour from someone I don't know if you could od it with other flours. maybe try. I know in India they wash with lentil flour.

Kombucha vinegar is much more gentle than other types, but if you don't have access to it, then rosewater could be nice. I hear beer is also good for hair, if I remember correctly.

If we don't have rye flour at home, I will try others and let you know how it goes!