You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I washed my hair with rye flour and this is what it looks like...

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

Have you tried to do a vinegar rinse after washing this out? That might remove the excess residue and give you that shine. I posted about a Kombucha vinegar rinse, but any rinse should work.

I also have curly hair and have been looking to eliminate shampoo as much as possible. I find that putting coconut oil in my hair is perfect to untangle everything (I usually leave it in overnight to condition), then I do a vinegar wash, but that sometimes leaves too much oil. I wonder if doing this then the vinegar wash will work better. I will try.

Is there a reason you chose rye flour? Could it work with other types of flours or do you find rye flour is best?

Sort:  

Thanks. Vinegar seems too harsh for my hair, I will try and rinse with rosewater and post about it. I got this tip about the rye flour from someone I don't know if you could od it with other flours. maybe try. I know in India they wash with lentil flour.

Kombucha vinegar is much more gentle than other types, but if you don't have access to it, then rosewater could be nice. I hear beer is also good for hair, if I remember correctly.

If we don't have rye flour at home, I will try others and let you know how it goes!