You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 21 Days of Kindness Day 6: Tell Your Loved Ones You Care

I'm really hoping the rain and snow comes and dampens down the wildfires and smoke. The air quality yesterday was 213 ("very unhealthy") when I checked it at night. I'm suffering from it INSIDE, and I'm not even near any of the fires, it's just drifted here.

Sort:  

So sorry I answer so late 🙏 I hope you are well and it started to rain. I am not sure where exactly you live, are you in California or Oregon, because I heard of the disastrous fires there? 🌈💕

I am in Colorado, so, the right side of this map:
fires map.jpg

Pretty much all the western states except the desert in Nevada are on fire right now. But it did rain and snow here, and dampened things down for us, so I'm grateful. It is Oregon and California that are really hurting now. Like, here we had ash falling from the sky and apocalpytic skies ...but then I saw their skies, and decided that ours hadn't been so bad:

fire orange sky.jpg

This map looks frightening!I hope that the fires are as fast as possible stopped, but I fear the damage is already very big. I never encountered anything like that and can hardly imagine how horrible it is.
Stay safe!!!

Yeah, it's like: January - Australia, September - the US. Sigh. But people still don't think climate change is real...
I'm OK where I am, but I do have friends on the west coast who have been in standby where they have to be ready to evacuate at any time. I've only had to do that once here, and that was years ago in college. It's a scary feeling. Especially since I don't have a car, and would be reliant on other people to get me and the cats to safety. At the time I had two roommates and I think only one of us had a car, so it was like, after us and our pets, there wouldn't be much room for us to pack many "things" and take them with us. It's like playing that horrifying scenario of "what would you grab if your house was on fire as you ran out the door."