Why Are Crypto Currency Influencers Not Following Back on Twitter?

in #twitter7 years ago

Crypto-currency-influencers-twitter.jpg

Easy Twitter Hack That Can Help Spread the Good Word of Crypto Currencies.

This is a call to all of my fellow online influencers including those of you in the Crypto Currency world. The easiest way to spread the word about a subject is to have followers who value your opinion. The one caveat is that the majority of these people would also like to be followed back. Fans love it when you follow them across social media and will reward you greatly.

Examples of Twitter Accounts that Do No Follow Back in the World of Crypto Currency.

@TraceMayer

2017-03-21 12_29_13-Trace Mayer (@TraceMayer) _ Twitter.png

I talked to @TraceMayer about this at LaBitConf. He is an amazing guy to talk to and is quite busy but imagine if he spent just 10 minutes a day engaging and following his Twitter audience. He would easily add 1,000 followers a month. He has been on Twitter since 2009 if he added 1,000 a month he would be near 100,000 followers by now. That is some serious Twitter influence! Get to work buddy. Trace Mayer on Twitter

@RogerKVer

2017-03-21 12_34_47-Roger Ver (@rogerkver) _ Twitter.png

Roger is another perfect example of someone who has a Twitter account that could easily be 10X bigger. His tweets do very well but he also does not follow back. I have never had a chance to meet him in person but you know that I will make sure to bring up his social presence when I do. I know that media does much of the work for him but a personal brand is the cornerstone of online influence. Roger Ver on Twitter

Juan Llanos is not on Steemit yet.

2017-03-21 12_40_10-Juan Llanos (@JuanLlanos) _ Twitter.png

Juan and I had a great talk about his Twitter at LaBitConf. He told me the reason he does not follow back is because he does not want to clutter his Twitter feed. He uses it for his news source. I told him that there is something called lists on Twitter. He can literally follow everyone who follows him yet have a list of all of his favorite new sites so that he could toggle back and forth. This is a common theme for Twitter users. Learn how to use Lists and show your followers some love.
Juan Llanos on Twitter

Now for Some Examples of Following Back on Twitter.

@DollarVigilante

2017-03-21 12_51_29-The Dollar Vigilante (@DollarVigilante) _ Twitter.png

I will start by saying Jeff and the Dollar Vigilante are a 200 Social client. Every day I use a tool called Crowdfire to follow and unfollow Twitter accounts. We have a few rules when we do this. If the accounts look fake we don't follow back and if an account unfollows we do the same. This keeps it easy to manage. When we took over the account it already had 7,000 followers but it was not following back. Once we started doing that the follower account exploded!
Now exactly one year later the account has added 16,000 followers. Dollar Vigilante Twitter.

@Steemit

2017-03-21 12_57_38-Steemit (@Steemit) _ Twitter.png

We also manage the Steemit Twitter account. We began back in September 2016. At the time the account had 600 followers. As you can see using the following tactic has really paid off. We just passed 11,000 followers. One thing that we do with the Twitter account is to Retweet some of the Tweets that mention @Steemit. There are some rules we follow but we do Retweet many Tweets. We also utilize Buffer to schedule 24 Tweets per day. These are articles found on the trending page of Steemit.com. Make sure to follow the account to get followed back. Steemit on Twitter

What Can We Learn from This?

People love to be followed back! If you reward people with your attention, no matter how small, they will reward you for it. This is human nature. So if you are guilty of ignoring your fans please change course and start following them today. This rule applies across social media. If we are going to spread the word of Crypto Currencies we need to step down off of our pedestals and start mingling with the masses.

Sort:  

Ah yes, the first rule of engagement: ENGAGE!

Of course, this isn't limited to the crypto field-- I see this trend everywhere. I sometimes call it the "guru syndrome." People get to the expert level at something, and for some reason feel the need to be "separate" from their followers and fans. In the self-development business, I have had a few tell me that they don't want to "interact too much" because they are afraid people will start asking for "free stuff."

Seems unfounded to me; one of the great ways to market is to offer people a bit for free and charge when they want the "full monty." But he, what do I know? I don't have an MBA from Harvard...

The conversations I have had over the years sure baffle me. You are right this is not just a problem in the Crypto world. Engagement benefits everyone, just look at what we have done on Steemit. My personal blog was getting very little engagement so I started blogging here and boom, I love blogging again.

I completely agree with this but have not (and will not start) a follow for follow campaign. Many times I get a canned DM from someone I follow, usually pushing some product. That drives me crazy and will almost always get an instant unfollow --- unless they engage me beyond that. I want to know there's a human behind the account.

Ignore the DM's. It is the worst spam messaging system on the internet.

ARGH! I just followed a person back and got his insta eBook! Noooo... if I wanted it, I would have asked or ordered it. SMH. Stop the Twitter spam! I love it otherwise.

Indeed it is a spam weapon, interestingly I have well known key account that is handling his important business talks via Twitter DM not via LinkedIn or email, not getting it but it is that way.

Cool post. I didn't create my Twitter account yet. I think I will do this this weekend. Thanks!

Please do and make sure to add @Steemit and @RandyHilarski and I will follow you back.

Informative post!

nice post @hilarski
i like

Good insights here, thanks for sharing. Twitter is a strong social network for the crypto community.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you for the Resteem! Keep it up, the more people who use the platform the better for all of us.