Lunch is Served Nicaraguan Style

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I came across @lizelle’s Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #54 - Fish & Pineapple Salsa Tacos post [https://steemit.com/steemitsandwichcontest/@lizelle/steemit-sandwich-contest-week-54-fish-and-pineapple-salsa-tacos]

fish-taco.jpg

I had some nice fresh fish, Pargo Rojo or red snapper. I thought why not give it a go. I have made fish tacos before but never with pineapple salsa.

I made some changes to the original recipe, sorry, @lizelle! I didn’t have hake, so we used the snapper.

I made a mountain of tortillas using the Maseca flour, water, salt and some red pepper flakes. (I don’t usually measure anything since I can tell by the feel of the dough whether or not I have the mix right.

I had lots of help gathering up the ingredients fresh from the garden for the salsa; Pineapple (Hawaiian, my only one for this year!), Green Pepper, Onion, Tomato, Spring Onion greens (didn’t have any, so used chives), and bean sprouts.

salad-garden.jpg

Salsa is chopped, mixed and left to get happy while the rest of the meal is prepared. The eldest children are supervised by their mother in making a garden bowl salad. This is where the kids get to take a basket or large bowl out to the garden and choose what veggies and/or fruit they want in their special salad. I am sure it will be a surprise!

The night before the little Cling-ons had helped to make some goat’s milk Greek-style yoghurt. Abuela made a quinoa salad to have today too.

quinoa-salad.jpg

Now it was time for the fish. The guys had it cleaned and fillet very quickly. It had been swimming around in the ocean about three hours earlier and they had it packed in ice. I made some bread crumbs from my leftover homemade bread last week. Everyone has to put their two pesos in as to what spices would be best to use.

It came down to a little lemon pepper, some salt, and a smidgen of taco seasonings, my own special blend. If the adults wanted it a wee bit more piquante, they can add some fresh chillies from the garden.

An assembly line is formed. Everyone wants to play with the food! Season the fish, both sides, let’s not be stingy! Egg wash, flour and coat with breadcrumbs. Hey, Mama Castor! What about some cheese? Hold the cheese! Mama says no way! Not on my Red Snapper taco! The kids want cheese on everything! But I have to draw the line somewhere!

Abuela Socorro, helps with the frying up the fish fillets, in a good old cast iron skillet with lots of butter of course! Finally, we are ready to assemble the tacos. This is done with surgical precision ~ not!

There is a lot of laughter and smiles. More salsa please! Where is the cheese, Mama? Not happening in this meal. More peals of laughter as the kids think they got my goat!

We take the extra tortillas (if you are going to make a taco or burrito, may well make it worthwhile, right?) that I made earlier and we start making them. With the ones I made the kids, I rolled them up more like a burrito for easier handling. I also broke up the fish fillets a little for the kids. So fish first, then the sprouts and top with a generous serving of the salsa. Top with the yoghurt. Roll up for the kids who are all waiting patiently to carry their plates to the table for the rest of the food.

Now for the hungry adults. No rolling for the guys. Real men don’t need pampering! 🤣🤣 Whole fish fillets if you please, easy on the bean sprouts (they aren’t rabbits you know!) Okay, now lots of that yellow pineapple stuff. A little of the yoghurt, and have you got any of that habanero sauce left?

dog-sad.jpg

Not one little scrap left for the dogs! They were so disappointed! The recipe was a hit @lizelle, even if I did take some liberties with it!

Ulog .gif

ghscollective_logo.png

Virtuecirclebanner.png

Sort:  

Owwwww how nice to see that you guys are having a decent and fresh meal, it truly looks delicious!

Like a second it would seem like everything is normal!

I try to keep it that way. We don't need the constant worry and stress. It is not good for the kids or the adults. I am surprised that we managed to get the food done without any mishaps with that many little hands trying to help!

That poor pup, he deserved a treat :( food looks gorgeous :)

Thanks, Karen. I am surprised it turned out as well as it did with that many little hands helping! LOL

ha! look at that dog looking up at you for some food! how can you deny him? lol that truly is an amazing recipe and a unique on at that, great job Ceci!

I got my inspiration from @lizelle! I just fudge a bit because I didn't have some of the ingredients.

ha! well the best cooks and bakers always do don't they? then it drives people crazy when they use a recipe and it doesn't ever turn out the way so and so made it!

I have never eaten, nor made, fish tacos but I've always wanted to. I just can never find a restaurant locally who makes them, or I forget to look on the menu until it's too late.

and I've never found a recipe that I have attempted.. maybe it's time to buckle down and do just that.

Where you live you should be able to buy tortillas. We like soft shell ( I know you can buy hard shell ones in stores in the US. Then start simple and cook your fish and add whatever toppings you like. First time I used lettuce, avocado, and a homemade dressing. They were tasty, but these I must say had to be the best so far!

Sounds like you guys had a fun little taco party! It's pretty amazing that you could get pineapple out of the garden.

And oh yes...the little cling-ons and their "helpful" hands. Ai yi yi. I have more cooking mishaps that way! But how else do they learn?

They make good taste testers too! If it doesn't fly with the kids, the adults probably won't like it either! I only had one this year, but was very sweet and delicious!

ha ha LOVE the nose beeging ratflol !!! looking yumyum, il take allllll :P

That's all, I went to eat. Calmly I could not read your article, because everything looked very tasty.

Все, я пошел кушать. Спокойно не получилось читать Вашу статью, ведь все выглядело очень вкусно.

Thank you, @cranium. I am glad you enjoyed the post!

Looks like a feast and one beautiful dog.
:)

It is one of 5 dogs that like to beg for human food! They even like hot sauce!

wow, that is a lot of mouths to feed. I bet they provide good protection for you.

They are very good protectors! Worth their weight in food. lol

Right .. and good companions too.

The best to you...looks like things are looking up.

Not really, we just try to make the best of a really bad sitution. I try to make things as normal as possible for the kids living here.

Congratulations @cecicastor! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

owwwww.....so....yummy!!!...ms.@cecicastor!...the...leaves...look...like...arugula...yummmy!...sorry...about...these...dots...my..laptop's...spacebar...is..not..working...hahahah...using...onscreen...key
board's....time...consuming...hahahahha

I know what you are talking about! My keyboard is not working properly, some keys stick and others don't function at all! So it takes twice as long to write anything. Someone recommended that I get a voice recognition software and dictate my posts, but I don't know...

so...true...huhuhu...sometimes...i...feel..like...not...posting...for...a...month...bwhahahaha...that.........voice..recognition...software...is..cool...@cecicastor... :)

Maybe it would work. I am not sure...

I...hope...it...will..work,@cecicastor...then...maybe...I..can..get..it..too...hahahha

Those fish tacos look amazing, so colorful and so delicious and so does the salad.
Thank you for sharing, I will have to try these one day.

All of that looks so delicious! <3

My better half has just recently introduced me to fish tacos and I have to say they were pretty good! I need to try the pineapple salsa, I live me some pineapple!

It has a bit of a kick to it for sure but my boys love lots of heat!

Mmmmm now I want tacos. Are those all your photos? Very professional! Poor doggo wanted some fish. 💛 And where is the cheese, Mama Castor??! 😁

The kids put cheese on everything! 😹 I was out that day. I needed to make more, but the tacos were already filling and tasty so they really didn't need it. Yes, all the dogs like people food, especially Brutus! Sorry, I can't take credit for the photos. A friend did.

You did very well indeed @cecicastor, red snapper would be even better than hake, plus you made your own tortillas! I would give anything to have had one of these! Those children are so blessed having you there :)
I really thought I'd already responded to this post but obviously not! Thanks for the shout-out, it's an honour that you did a remake of it :)

The joyful atmosphere in preparing the recipe, together with the genuinity of the ingredients made your post amazing (and left me drooling on the keyboard)!

I am glad you enjoyed it. The folks had a lot of fun in making the meals and the kids had the most fun eating it.

hi dear the drop thing will cost 50 euro and it will take 4 days

That is too much money for a bag of candy...I appreciate the offer, but I think that 50 Euros would be better spent on something more practical.

I had to explain Why , who and what LOL picture me explaining well its for a friend a steemit friend A what?? YES she went from Canada to ..... well you know the drill and When I said she wants DROP 😬😬 they had to See if its ok to sent it well long story short this amount sorry but you are so RIGHT 😉

Congratulations @cecicastor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!