ULOG: "Surround: Are You Surrounded with the Right Things In Life?" | Ulog-ChristianTrail |

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

What is #Ulog-ChristianTrail?

As we read @surpassinggoogle's recent post we can see in the middle section of it he mentioned different tags that we can use in making an ULOG post and inspired me to start a new Tag, #ulog-christiantrail, this is a tag that we can all use whenever we are sharing everything that is connected to our FAITH, whether it be our Daily Devotions, Daily Prayers, Sunday Preaching, Life Group Topics, Testimonies and a lot more. Share your Faith and your Life by using #ulog-christiantrail!

Today, I'll be sharing my Personal Devotion about "Surround: Are You Surrounded with the Right Things In Life?" which is based from Hebrews 12:1-2

Christian Trail #3.jpg

Background Image is from Unsplash

HEBREWS 11:1-2 (NKJV)

[1] Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,

[2] fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

REFLECTION

Hebrews 12 began with the word "Therefore", which means that it is the conclusion of the preceding chapter, Hebrews 11 which is all about "FAITH" it is a collection of different stories from the different people in the Bible who kept their faith unto the Lord, some of which are Abraham, Enoch, Abel, Noah, Isaac, Jacob and many more. The author of Hebrews made a conclusion about Hebrews 11, the "Hall of Faith", by saying, "Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses," (v.1) which means that "they" are part of a Large Group of People (cloud of witnesses) called to live by Faith and they are SURROUNDED by people who live by Faith.

As a believer of Christ we need to consider things that "Surrounds" us for this will help us (a) throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles (b) run with perseverance the race marked out for us and (c) fix our eyes on Jesus.

These are three questions we need to consider in evaluating our surroundings:

  1. WHAT are the things that you surround to yourself?
    -- Are you listening to the right kind of Music, Preaching, Speech, People? Are you watching the right things? Reading the right book?

  2. WHO are the people that you surround to yourself?
    -- Who are the people you spend the most of your time? Vladimir Lenin said it right, "Show me who your friends are, and I will tell you what you are."

  3. WHERE you place yourself?
    -- this question determines if we are at the right place of our life. Are we still walking in the path the Lord set before us? Are we visiting unnecessary places?

PRAYER

Heavenly Father, Thank You for surrounding me with Your presence, making me able to conquer every challenges that will come my way. Help me Oh Lord to surround myself with the right things by identifying the things that I should Listen, Watch and Read. Help me Oh Lord to identify the right people or group that I should connect with that will help me develop my relationship with You. Lead me to the right place, a place that You prepared for me, in Jesus' Christ name I pray, Amen!

Thank you for spending your time reading this post!

"I thank my God every time I remember you."
(Philippians 1:3, NKJV)

@chaelpacia


This post was made from https://ulogs.org