#Ulog-Mostly About Family And The Military Veterans Contest I Entered Today On Steemit

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Today started off slow and then became eventful...We will get back to that later.

I talked to my brother for the first time in a couple of years. One of the things I am personally working on is reaching out to family I haven't spoken too in a long time. I am the oldest out of blood siblings and I need to start doing my part and act like an older brother.

I don't have a relationship with either of my brothers. It all really comes down to really dumb crap. To put in bluntly...Theft of my stuff. I'm not too sure how to approach this but I need to make an effort to bring my family closer together...not just for them...but me too.

I'm just going to have to tell them both..."You touch my shit and we are having a session behind the shed".

But yeah, that was a nice surpise to have.


I received another phone call from my sister to let me know our mom is in the hospital. She literally almost died. The Doctor says 12 more hours without getting to the hospital and she would have been dead. My oldest brother(step-brother) so happened to call my mom later in the evening and she was acting really strange. She was being verbally aggressive and was also yelling for Neace to come to her. One Problem....my Neace's visit ended about a month ago.

My brother asked If she was ok and she yelled at him that she was "fine", hung up the phone, and then wouldn't accept calls.
He knew something was wrong and called family that lives in our mom's state. As soon as my aunt showed up she knew something was wrong with my mom and called 911.

My mom's blood pressure was in the 60's/40. She has also been fighting an infection and was in stage 3 kidney failure. Come to find out...she has been fighting this infection for two months and the doctor never changed the antibiotic she was taking.

I am very thankful she made it to the hospital.

It is my understanding they could release her Wednesday with a different antibiotic IF her blood pressure increases.
Right now it's touch and go. But I am looking more towards the positive side and hope she is released Wednesday. If she is not released then I will evaluate if it is time for me to take a trip to the big city.


This is an old photo from Iraq I found today on the internet that I didn't even know existed. I want to say the credit goes to KEN GIESKEN. Can you tell which one is me?

After calling her this morning I learned about the Bringing Sexy Back contest by @Rakkasan84 and my wife and I started working on that post around 12:30 after I dug out all of my old Army gear. That was a blast.

I even managed to get a work out in while we were shooting the pictures. I am sure that is the most I have ran in years!

P.S. For anyone that noticed the Captain's Rank on the hat in the picture. There is an awesome story about that. The reason why I have it on is because I could not find my personal Boonie Cap. This Captain's cap was obtained in Iraq on a night I was getting drunk with Officers. This particular hat came from an Officer that was careless and left our little party without his cap. He wasn't in my unit so I kept it as a souvenir. He did look for it the next day, but I never said anything about it. It's one of those mementos I had to keep.

So...I forgot that I had this cap on backwards so it wouldn't show up in the pictures and when I was going through the photos I noticed you could see the rank when I was backwards.

I didn't want to include photos I already placed in the other blog so I figured I would include it in the #ulog and tell you about it.



Top Photo By @curly-q
Middle Photo: Ken Giesken(I think)
Bottom Logo: @steemitboard

Sort:  

I hope your mom recovers quickly. I am glad that your brother could tell something wasnt right when he was talking to her and called some family to go check on her. Keep doing the ULOGs and keep up uptodate on what is going on with ya.

Thanks for the thoughts about my mom. I do like the #ulog's. Will try to do them more frequently