#ulog 16: The Lighthouse & Garden

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello #STEEM #Ulog Family!

Today I will take you to Peggy's Cove Lighthouse, and of course show you a little more beauty from the garden. Craig and @marionbowes took us out for ice cream at this quaint little community store called The Whale's Back. Afterwards we went down to the lighthouse. It was a beautiful, balmy, misty evening and hardly any tourists were there, score!

IMG_8583.JPG

IMG_8589.JPG

IMG_8590.JPG

The boys go absolutely crazy every time we go there. We seriously need to start bringing leashes.

I kid, I kid...

IMG_8582.JPG

They just feel so wild and free out there with the waves and the huge rocks, it's damn near impossible to get them to listen. I'd love to let them be more free on the rocks, but people die there almost every year...so...not an option.
Gotta respect Nature.

IMG_8584.JPG

IMG_8596.JPG

It was low tide, and the fog was spectacular, made me feel like I was in Scotland or something...(I've never been there, but it's like #1 on my list of places I want to travel, there and Egypt)

Where is the first place you'd like to travel?

IMG_8578.JPG

The fog was creating tremendously beautiful water droplets.

IMG_8580.JPG

I even manned up and took a people watching type photo of a random person, thinking of @winstonalden :)

IMG_8598.JPG

And that's all she wrote for Peggy's Cove because my camera battery died. That's twice this year it's happened to me out there.

I'm convinced now it's because I'm supposed to just be taking it all in.

Staying in the moment with the sounds, smells and power of the rocks and water. To ground my energy instead of taking photos.

Can you blame me though? I can't help but constantly be clicking when I'm out there, I am just not tired of the village or the landscape at all and I've been here for 4 years.

I Never Tire of Beauty

Beauty, whether it be natural, or crafted by man, always gives me a feeling of meaning and purpose about this life. I see in it, the paradise, the renaissance we could be living in. I spend a fair amount of time just observing beauty. Beautiful sights, smells, sounds, textures, fill my soul in ways I cannot describe.

Would you like to look with me, through my rose coloured glasses?

IMG_8613.JPG

The pink poppies have started to bloom.

IMG_8610.JPG

IMG_8612.JPG

I Love This View

IMG_8599.JPG

Baby kittens in a basket, and bright red poppies dotting the view behind them.

IMG_8600.JPG

IMG_8615.JPG

IMG_8611.JPG

IMG_8619.JPG

You can see in the background of that last photo my orange bucket. I filled that puppy up with weeds 3 times today and fed them to the chickens. They loved me :) My body loves me for getting some earthing and exercise. My plants love me for giving them some breathing room. It's a win - win - win - win. I never mind weeding, or doing any chore really, the hardest part for me is just the beginning it. I love to procrastinate. I get some kind of sick joy about leaving things to the last minute.

Screen Shot 2018-07-16 at 12.22.50 AM.png

Zucchini

IMG_8608.JPG

Potato

IMG_8605.JPG

Squash

IMG_8616.JPG

Tomatoes

I hope you're having a great time wherever you are, thanks as always, for visiting my world.

Sort:  

For someone who procrastinates you sure have to lot to show for. :-)

Bwa hahahaaa it's that last minute action, when the pressure is on I can accomplish a lot in a short amount of time :) Thanks for the thumbs up Mike!! Great to see you too btw.

I’ve heard of Peggy’s Cove. Sure looks nice out there. Reminds me of the rocks around Gibsons when I went to visit my Dad on the Pacific Ocean.

There are definitely similarities...the rocks at PC are much more expansive though. If my camera didn't die I could have shown you a lot more :(

Awesome photography as usual, @lyndsaybowes I always glad to see your stunning photo shots of natural scenes. Lots of love.

Lots of love back to you @rabeel, long time no see!!

Ohh yes lyndsaybowes actually busy in family matters. And also unable to give proper time to steemit. But I didn't forget you. Lol

Long before you became my friend Peggys Cove lighthouse was on my bucket list of places that I need to visit. Never wanted to visit America for some reason but although Canada is on the same continent it has always drawn me. Nova Scotia is fast becoming my obsession, it looks so beautiful, and between you and Marion the local tourist board has very strong competition. 😎😎❤❤

Aww...would be so epic to host you and Jemma someday...STEEM to the MOON and maybe we'll get you out here!!

It's always fun to enjoy a day in your life! The rocks are incredible at Peggy's Cove.....imagine the stories they hold! Your garden and kittens are so sweet!! Lotsa Loves Lynds ❤

When I'm out there I often wonder what the Natives did out there, it's sad but there isn't much history taught here on the First Nations...not like in BC and Alberta.

Canada's history is so distorted. It's sinking in more & more all the time. Last night during the signing of the national anthem at my nephews football game i could not bring myself to take off my hat and sing. First time that's happened. I've always belted it out so patriotically. Now i want to yell truths while others are singing it.....awkward!! I refrained from doing that...for fear of being put in the loonie bin 🙈 God help us. Now!

Thank you for seeing through the illusion <3 <3 <3 I think there's more of us than we know...

From what I am learning about the MicMacs they didnt hang around the cove. I think mostly they were up the other side of Halifax. Musquodoboit and such.

I would visit Ireland or Skye (in Scotland), if I could.

Ooh soul Bro!!! Let's go!!!!

hey, Lyndsay!
great photos! I'd like to visit this palce too, really special atmosphere.
and fog gives some magic for sure!

and beauty, yes...wise thoughts about it.
It's so important to see beauty anywhere, even in simple things around.
You have such a skill for sure;)
simple plants, simple flowers, kittens, but you show them in a special manner, and they seem to be natural masterpieces.

I've got a new cam recenlty, and now I'm like a maniac who tries to save any moments and any pieces of beauty around;)

btw, Lyndsay, what is Ulog family? I've never heard of it though I see this tag often.

Ah that's great you are feeling so inspired with your new camera, I cannot wait to see what the years unfold in your photos...

#Ulog was started by @surpassinggoogle. It's an initiative to get people blogging every day. Even if you have only 1 photo, post it, write a few paragraphs about your photo, or about your life in general!!

Title your posts as a series for #ulog. eg: Ulog #1, (then the title of your post) Ulog #2 etc etc etc

You are a celebrity and we are your fans!

There's a wonderful team of Steemians curating the #ulog community, would love to see you join in the fun!

ah..thank you for explanation!
so just anybody can use this very tag and post at least something and a definite trial will upvote him?
I'll try maybe;)
I've used esteem for now, it's a great app, and its founders give some upvotes too if they like the post, you can try it too;)

No, there are no guarantees of upvotes like esteem.

esteem isn't guaranteed either;)

All the photos are beautiful but my favorites are where the kittens come out with the flowers in the background ... Those photos are very tender. 😍

The photographs were very special and beautiful, I liked them very much, it continues like this, very well

Love this post! Of course I love the flowers, but I also love the lighthouse and the rocks. Our rocks look different in Michigan, so l really enjoy looking at rock formations from other areas. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Yeah the rocks at Peggy's Cove are one of a kind...sometimes when I'm out there I imagine how they got to be the way they are...

Ahh it takes me back!! Thank You! I felt the same as the boys on the rocks out there. I just wanted to run and hike on them forever. Damn your garden looks great! Is Eddie Bowes home yet?

Ed's still not home for another month! :'(

Where is the first place you'd like to travel?

Europe. You did say "place' and not country. Would like to do a Novacadian's European Biking Tour starting in Holland and then ride south through the lovely flatlands of France to Paris and then onward to the Mediteranean coast where the plan would be to take a hard left turn to Italy; travelling down the boot to wherever passage to Malta might be found.

I truly hope that unfolds for you @novacadian, you got this!!

Never, never, never get tired of that cove. Winter, spring, summer or fall. Day time, night time, hot or cold. Rain, sleet, sun, snow or mist. I never tire of its vastness, it's ruggedness and the natural beauty and the smell. Oh that smell. I loved being there in that misty stuff. But hey, I love that mysterious misty stuff. So hey new idea...get Craig's to take the pics next time and you become one with the cove. In fact...sit on my stone couch. You know the one I showed you. lol xx

That sounds like a plan! I'll remember to charge my battery, and Craig will need to remember his glasses. It's a date!

done deal

Those poppys are beautiful..

Nice to see the old lighthouse. Good memories. Scotland is on my travel list since my grandfather's folks came from there. Love to go and look up Nessy! The garden looks great! I am waiting for my tomatoes. I love tomatoes fresh from the vine...

Ooh nice, and I would have thought that you would have tomatoes well before us, interesting!

I'm happy to remind you of your good memories about Peggy's Cove.. <3 Take care, love you Ceci, thinking about you often <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

This is my second garden this year so it will be a little behind yours :)
Love you too Lyndsay. Someday I will pop by for a visit...

Ba hahaha, I should have known !! 2nd garden! Doh!!

@lyndsaybowes
Lighthouse remind me of many childhood stories