ULOG #5: MY VISIT TO START INNOVATION HUB UYO

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

This might not really be the right place to tell this story but I feel that the Ulog tag is a platform to share our day to day life experiences. Today I was invited over to the Start Innovation Hub in uyo city Akwa Ibom state because I did something. What exactly did I do? At the end of this post, you would have known.

FB_IMG_1529014211001.jpg

Hi there and welcome to my blog post today. As usual, my name is Great Morgan and it is indeed a pleasure to have you reading this post right now. Today, I would be taking you on a brief journey or should I say visit of mine to the Start Innovation Hub. In this post, I’ll discuss my reason and purpose for visiting the hub what went down during the day. Stay tuned and enjoy this adventure of mine.

IT ALL STARTED HERE

So on Wednesday, I got a message from a friend of mine on Facebook stating that there was question on the Start innovation hub Facebook group and that a correct or suitable answer to the question would attract a prize. Let’s pause here for a minute…

Okay, so this is why I never really wanted mention this because it all started with Facebook. I know steemit is also a social media platform and well I am supposed to be doing things that promote the community right? Or maybe there is no rule that states that I cannot talk about Facebook happenings here. Personally, I think what matters the most is that I am telling a story and not necessarily promoting Facebook or its activities here. Let’s continue…

So after I received the message from this friend, I teleported immediately to the Facebook group that I was asked to visit and attempted the question. Truth be told, the question was quite tricky. They asked “what does the word FIGURE mean to you”. I know this was some sort of ‘trap’. The word FIGURE could actually mean tons of things depending on what the context is really about. So I did a quick study of how the word has been used in the group.

Clearly the word was written as a hash tag and with my knowledge of social media marketing; I knew that they were actually trying to create an awareness campaign for whatever FIGURE actually meant to them. So again, I browsed through their Facebook group and discovered several discussions where they talked about FIGURES. Then it occurred to me that the idea of FIGURE was like an icon or when someone is popular, famous or notable for doing something acknowledgeable by an immediate community. This was similar to the answer I inputted in a comment section of the post.

THE MESSAGE, THE HUB AND THE GIFT

In the early hours today, I received a message from the person that told me about the contest. Personally, I had forgotten about the contest and just assumed that I would get too find out who the winner was later in the day and what they must have commented to be the lucky person to win the gift involved. The message I got from Mr Iddy, who happens to be the one that informed me about the contest was that I had won the contest. Wow, I won the contest with my comment.

I was asked to visit the hub immediately and redeem my prize. I ran immediately and took the next commercial vehicle that was heading towards the hub. When I got there I was welcomed by the officials who worked at and controlled activities at the hub. I was then asked to wait while they went to get the gift.

FB_IMG_1529014214502.jpg

I actually won for myself a branded t-shirt. It was branded by start innovation hub and to be honest I was happy. I had been discussing with the founder of the hub to gift me the t-shirt for months now but my request wasn’t really attended to. I am a partial geek and I find it fun to wear branded clothing accessories from science and tech related brands and big names in the industry.

It was indeed a pleasure for me to have been gifted the t-shirt considering the fact that I didn’t have it 24 hours back. I am still looking forward to owning t-shirts and other clothing accessories from big tech brands and block-chain empires or communities. I hope you had a great day too?

FB_IMG_1529014219727.jpg