You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HomeEdders Challenge

in #unschooling5 years ago

“How do you tell the people who raised you, that you want to do it differently?!”

Now that’s an interesting way of putting it. I wonder how much of the tension and anxiety over home education from the outside is because of (for some) an inability to accept that some people telling them that their efforts of raising their own wasn’t enough..

It would probably be a mortifying feelingbto be told that the way you did things were not actually in the interest of the child.

Sort:  

I think it’s a difficult subject. All parents try to do the best they can. We have lots of information and choices that they might not have had. Maybe they would have done it differently if they’d know another way, or maybe not!

I do know that by making the choices I do for my children, I can heal the problems in my own childhood. I don’t feel sad that I didn’t get a different childhood, that would have changed who I am now and the life I have, but seeing how I can make a better life for my children is the best!