Lost Powerdown

in #upfundme4 years ago (edited)

Over 2 years ago I was phished. Someone got my keys, stole the 8 liquid Steem I had and started a powerdown. That was before we had an easy account recovery feature and @guiltyparties and the @qurator team worked at helping me get control of my account again. Just before the first powerdown began @good-karma rescued my account and changed the keys in the nick of time!

z09ydx.jpg

What I didn't realize is that the scammer changed his account as the outgoing route for vesting shares and when I got 760 Steem today from my 1st ever power down it went into his account. Lost forever. Hope he used it for a good cause. Jerk.

@rycharde helped me figure out where my powerdown funds went and @ats-david told me how to fix it.
Thank you so much! 😘

You can check your outgoing route on SteemWorld- Balances-to withdraw-outgoing routes. It should be empty with no routes set. I'm feeling a little foolish, but I had never checked there. Mine went to someone called 'myperspectives'

Maybe he is using it to feed hungry children. Or donating it to cancer research. Right?

Enter Here

Shadow Contest Round 111


If you have 100 cc you can use the tag and reward cc to everyone who leaves a comment on your post, too!

80pli5.png

created by @barbara-orenya

Posted with eSteem

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | DiscordVote for @good-karma as a witness
wvy22j.gif

Sort:  

well that sucks 😕

Scammers gonna scam... as I was recently reminded.

Djeezus, that ss...
Poor you, again that same b
.
I remember those days... never thought it would still have an effect today 🤬🤬🤬

Right? It was bad enough when it happened, but I never dreamed it would have a lasting impact!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Check my last update here

That's awful but thanks for the warning.

Everyone who has ever been phished needs to check!

OOOh that sucks !! I'm sorry for you Melinda 😞
But how could you have known that indeed ..?
That's so nice of you to make it an available information for others...

I would hate to see it happen to anyone else!

Too bad, I hope it's like you say and I'm using it for something good...

It is... I was planning to send a bit around to friends and make some of my delegations bigger. Now I have to wait 7 more days.

I imagine. I also started my power down, maybe that will help me buy food for these days

I think that is a good plan. Hang on to as much as you can in case the price goes up, but I'm betting on Hive.

My hopes are on Hive, I'm glad I set a part of it all

The son of a b... hope he/she gets a severe case of diarrhea!
Thanks for pointing that out, will check my steemworld just in case too!

severe? I vote for non-stop 53 days diarrhea, not less.

😂😂😂

🤣🤣 a Poonami on him ! !ikmkwk.png

I'm sure if you have never been scammed you have nothing to worry about, but it is simple to check. Who knew it was even a thing?

True, after all the time that would never cross my mind!

oh, damn!!! i had to read it twice to understand. phishing took place 2 years ago, but the fruits came yesterday, after your power-down? damn, damn!! I feel your sorrow...

ps. MAYBE. but I afraid the chances for such scenario are 0.00001 or less

Oh well. I hope he spends it wisely! I would have never known to check there, but if I can help even one person by sharing this I won't feel as bad.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

On Esteem, you can check power down status and it also shows where it is going. I assume you didn't use Esteem for initiating power down?! Glad it is sorted now...

I only use ESteemapp on my phone... And I am loving the latest Esteem Hive version! The laptop I have is old and slow and seldom used. I just got a new Chromebook and would love a web version! 😏

Web version taking bit longer time, we are thinking to create proposal to help us build web version fully functional, quicker and support our opensource development effort. In few days, we will post about that...

With so many people using tablets these days I know a web based version would be very useful to many people!

Sorry to hear about this experience, that’s sad and terrible.
You’re kind in saying what you have to say to that thief.

Thanks.... But I still think he is a jerk! If I was going to give that Steem away I would have liked it to go to the person of my choice! 🙄

Oh dear, I am so sorry to hear that. I wouldn't think something like that could happen. How it is possible? Bloody scammers.
Thank you for warning us.

I think because of the work that has been done to protect our accounts it would be difficult for this to happen today. @steemcleaners/ @hivewatchers has done a great job of being watchful and shutting down those phishing attacks.

Sorry to hear of your lost. The world is a dangerous place. Even the virtual world.

Those people are out there, sad to say.

So sorry to hear that happenned :(

I'm just glad it is fixed and hope I can make anyone who has ever had their account compromised aware!

Oh..damn so sorry to hear that , i think there will be a lot of scammers getting ready to do bad things with so many people powering down we all need to be careful.

Scammers come out of the woodwork when the price goes up, too.

It is scary i hope you have done the necessary things for this not to happen again 😊

I hope so too! ❤️

Oh no! How cunning of them 😠🤬

I didn't even know that could be done. Let's just hope the scammer lost his job and got kicked out by his landlord and is now sleeping on the streets. This should keep him going for a while

It was not anything that had ever occurred to me, either. I just hope anyone else who has efer been part of a phishing scam is aware and checks their routing. I'm told it's easy to see on Esteem Surfer.

I remember that, did a shout-out post to warn others and transferred the earnings. I expect to see a lot of thefts and scams on Steem from now on. Stay safe.

Thanks, luv! They are removing many of the tools we had in place to keep us safer on Steem It seems to be about numbers, not quality to them, doesn't it?

That would definitely require some backend knowledge of Steem. What is the thief's account name? I like to research 😉

"myperspectives". Let me know if you find anything interesting.

Ouch! People like that really suck. I went and checked mine, just to be sure. Yeah, maybe it will go to cause. Experience shows there are very few "Robin Hoods" out there, though. Hopefully, word about this kind of routing will get out and prevent others from having the same happen to them.

Still trying to figure out this whole Hive thing. I'm using Peakd, now, but can't figure out if it duplicated our steem to Hive currency or what all shenanigans are afoot. Did you power down your steem to move it to Hive?

I was being a bit sarcastic about the spammer being a Robin Hood! Glad you checked! I have powered down my Steem and will use it to buy more Hive....hopefully no one besides me will get my next powerdown payment. I use Esteem and can't help with PEAKD. It all seems really complicated to me, but I am a longtime Esteem user, so that all remains familiar, and allows me to

It will all become easier as more tools are developed for Hive. It's going to be a wonderful place to call home!

I wouldn't even know how to convert Steem to Hive. It should be interesting to see how this all goes.

If you go into your Steemit wallet you can start a power down and your Steem will become liquid again. Then in your Hive account Blocktrades makes it easy to trade Steem for Hive. I'm always happy to help if you have questions. If I don't know the answers, I know people that do!

I've never used Blocktrades. I did start the Steem power-down, though. Too bad it never got high enough to afford a camera.

All of your Steem tokens were mirrored as Hive into the new blockchain. You can view your wallet from Peakd or from ESteem. It's all the same wallet.

That's an incredible story Melinda..scumbags are found no matter where you go aren't they?