iOS eSteem App | Pin Code Screen Comes Behind Submit Story Form

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

In day to day use of eSteem Mobile app for iOS, today I found a bug where you do not get to see the pin code page if you had opened Submit Story page previously. I hope when this bug is fixed, it will not let the user submit a story without entering the pin code. I feel finding these bugs help me do my bit to support the endeavors of @good-karma and this app used by 1000s of users.

In the previous version of the eSteem Mobile app as well there was similar issue/bug but in that bug you can actually open the Submit Story form without entering the Pin Code. However, in this version the old context menu has been replaced by the Submit Story button/icon and Search button/icon, however, still user can trick the method by opening the submit story form first and then continuing with it. The symptom of the issue is simialr, however, the scenario to produce the issue is different now in the new version of the app. Hence, I believe this scenario must also be fixed in order to fix the whole problem from all angles.

image.png

Expected behavior

Pin Code screen should always be on top of all other screens as pin code must always be entered before entering any app including eSteem Mobile app.

Actual behavior

Pin code screen comes behind the Submit Story screen/page thereby allowing the user to submit a story without even entering the Pin Code.

How to reproduce

  1. Open eSteem Mobile app v1.5.0 on iOS 11.2.2 on an iPhone 6 device.
  2. Make sure you are logged in and have the Pin Code enabled in settings of the app.
  3. Minimize the app by pressing the Home button of iPhone and reopen the eSteem Mobile app again.
  4. Confirm that Pin Code is being asked to you when you hide and reopen the app in general. This will confirm the functionality of asking the user the Pin Code is working fine in all such cases.
  5. Now, click on the Submit Story button/icon on top right corner of the app (A little pencil icon next to lens/search icon)
  6. Now, write some text in the subject and body of the Submit Story screen and press the Home button again to minimize the eSteem Mobile app.
  7. Reopen the eSteem Mobile app and you will see that Submit Story form is still visible to you where you can continue writing the story and submit it.
  8. However, press the back button (top left corner) and see the Pin Code screen is visible behind the Submit Story screen causing the bug. The Pin Code screen should always come on top of all screens in such cases so that user cannot use the functionality of eSteem Mobile app without entering the Pin Code as that is the intended purpose of the Pin Code.
  • Operating system: iOS 11.2.2
  • Device: iPhone 6
  • eSteem App Version: 1.5.0

Recording Of The Bug

To reproduce the issue, I have created a screen recording as well which can be found at the link: Screen Recording Link



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thanks for reporting! Do you see same issue with 1.5.1 release?

My name is maksal Mina
I'm a new member of steemit
Help me please!
Please followback and upvote my post!

Greetings,
i am from aceh indonesia
I am still very incapable in this field, but I want to learn, and I want to succeed like you, please guide me.

Greetings,
i am from aceh indonesia
I am still very incapable in this field, but I want to learn, and I want to succeed like you, please guide me

Yes @good-karma I verified it on latest version as well, it does replicate them same there too. I will try to verify other reported bugs on latest version too to confirm if hey got fixed or not. should I tag you on those old posts too?

I downloaded ur app esteem , @good-karma. Great app, i really apreaciated the way you upvoted my posts. I wish you can upvote many of my post everyday. Help me @ good-karma please , delegate some steem power to my account. I am new on steemit, and right now i am serving long jail sentence in a foreign country. So financially i cant invest. Hope you will assist me , thank you.

please Votes got me the boss

Hay... I am newcomer in steemit
I need your help to follow and upvote me..
I hope we can be a good friend..

bro updete plz steemit app

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

  • Notes - Good find! In the future please try to reduce the length of your videos. This took a long time to watch, and only a small part of it was necessary to demonstrate the bug.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you, will take care of it in future.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by devilonwheels from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey @devilonwheels I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

very useful your post. please help to increase the quality of our accounts

please Votes got me the boss