You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BlagoMiner v2.300002.0 Release: coin switching optimisations, and DiskCoin testnet support

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Great update!

Really like to read your contribution posts. These include some great details.

I think you manually merge and push your feature branches so every time I review your posts I need to do some /compare magic on your future branches. Did you consider using github UI for pull requests and merging? (Not questioning your way of working, but this is just what I'm used to see in general.)


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks for your kind words, and for the suggestion about PRs. "Manually" - actually, yeah, that's exactly how I work - it's related to the fact that I somewhat like doing merges, it's a great occasion to do a last review and cleanup the code, etc. And I like octopuses :D

However, I know what you mean. Few hours after pushing the code, I wanted to check something, and while it would pretty easy to do with my git client, I thought "hey, I'll check how does that look on GitHub". I went to this post, clicked on a link to that branch...

...and I was totally shocked that I can't readily see what are the actual diffs of those branches. Well, the more I think about it, the more obvious is that GitHub doesn't have any way of guessing where does a branch start to make the diff, but I really expected that there is some default view showing changes versus default branch/etc..

I don't like the idea of PR'ing to my own repo, where I'm the only active person, I like working on one-branch-per-thing, I often reorganize branches while working on them, and PR'ing everything would add (much? some?) "dead" overhead. But I don't see ANY other way to make reviewing easier, so yeah, just for the sake of reviewer's time, I will probably start making PRs. Thanks for reinforcing my observations regarding that!

Thank you for your review, @emrebeyler! Keep up the good work!