You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BlagoMiner v2.300002.0 Release: coin switching optimisations, and DiskCoin testnet support

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for your kind words, and for the suggestion about PRs. "Manually" - actually, yeah, that's exactly how I work - it's related to the fact that I somewhat like doing merges, it's a great occasion to do a last review and cleanup the code, etc. And I like octopuses :D

However, I know what you mean. Few hours after pushing the code, I wanted to check something, and while it would pretty easy to do with my git client, I thought "hey, I'll check how does that look on GitHub". I went to this post, clicked on a link to that branch...

...and I was totally shocked that I can't readily see what are the actual diffs of those branches. Well, the more I think about it, the more obvious is that GitHub doesn't have any way of guessing where does a branch start to make the diff, but I really expected that there is some default view showing changes versus default branch/etc..

I don't like the idea of PR'ing to my own repo, where I'm the only active person, I like working on one-branch-per-thing, I often reorganize branches while working on them, and PR'ing everything would add (much? some?) "dead" overhead. But I don't see ANY other way to make reviewing easier, so yeah, just for the sake of reviewer's time, I will probably start making PRs. Thanks for reinforcing my observations regarding that!