November Post Bench marking Report - Steemit Business Intelligence

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Every month I carry out an analysis of Posts made on the steemit platform with the aim of establishing some sort of benchmark that I can work towards and to give you a better understand on Post activity for the month.

As always I have connected to Steemsql using Power BI and the query is used was

         SELECT *   
         FROM Comments (NOLOCK)
         where created >= CONVERT(datetime,'11/01/2017') 
         and created< CONVERT(datetime,'12/01/2017')
        and depth = 0

This analysis only looks at Posts, it does not look at comments.

Financial Performance

October Report

November Report
3.png

The % of posts with <=$1 payout has remained consistent over the two months, however the % of posts that did not achieve a payout has increased from 16% to 19%.

There was also a substantial increase of 23% in the number of posts made in November over the month of October. Yet the total rewards achieved on posts is down 1%.

In Nov 645 posts had a payout value of more that $100 compared to 748 in October. This is a 13% decrease.

Overall the average payout per post for November is $1.76. If we remove all posts that have No payout this increase the average post payout to $2.18

Let’s see how I compare

4.png

I must say, I am rather happen with this performance. Although I have 4 less posts this month to last month, my post earning are well up as I had 5 posts earning between $51 and $100.

Votes

October Report

November Report

5.png

In October 7.21% of posts had a net vote of 0, this has increased to 8.45% in October. There has also been an increase in the number of posts that have a net Downvote. I know @steemcleaners have been working hard to fight spam using downvotes and have also got the support of others doing the same. Personally I see this increase in downvotes as a good thing to Steemit, however mixed with post, there is always some negative!

The number of posts with a net vote of 1 has increased decreased from 11.77% to 9.56%.

The largest gainer this month on vote brackets is the % of posts that have received 11-50 votes. This has increased from 23.11% to 30.76%

How did I do?

6.png

To me this is whopper. All of my posts had 51 or more votes. Last month almost 26% of my posts had between 11-50 votes. Also this month I stopped using @Minnowsupport on all of my posts, so I was expecting to see a negative effect from this.

Comments

October Report

November Report

7.png

The % of posts with 0 comments has increased from 39.47% to 46.32%. There has also been a decrease in the number of posts with 51 or more comments.

In October this was 0.47% and in November is was down to 0.37%. There was also a decrease in the number % of posts with 2-10 comments moving from 32.74% in October to 27.97% in November.

Comments left on my posts
In October 40% of my posts received 11 or more comments. In November 73.9% of my posts received 11 or more comments.

Further Data

Below are two further charts for your information, the top chart shows the number of posts made each day. We can see the start of the month the number of daily posts was lower than the rest of the month. This may have been down to Steemfest 2. Below that is a chart showing how many new users registered each day on Steemit.

9.png

10.png

How did your posts preform against these metrics in November? Comment below and share your experience.

I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you... *

You can find #bisteemit on discord https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I joined Steemit yesterday, so I follow only a handful of people. But I can clearly state you're my favorite person to follow.

Your data and posts are golden!

Thanks for this data @paulag..everything perfect

this is very was bermamfaa'at for me and this is a new science for me, thank you had to share @paulag

@paulag , thank you so much for this excellent analysis. This is quite informative.

In Nov 645 posts had a payout value of more that $100 compared to 748 in October. This is a 13% decrease.

I wonder if this has something to do with the Steem Dollar value going up and people are more stingy :)
I know I have been counting money. Once again, thank you for this analysis. I will look forward to it next month as well.

November saw improvement for my posts, as well! Thanks for this data, @paulag!

Great work Paula!

I like the distributions of the total Gross Posts Payout (over $1m per month!) split between posts of different size post payout. It shows that, even though there may be lots of the same faces on the trending page, the majority of steem is being distributed in the $2 - $100 post range with lots in that $2 - $10 bracket.

So there's something for everyone to be aiming at, no matter how new they are to the platform.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.
great analysis @paulag ;)
You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Cool info! I'm going to contribute on analysis posts like these as well soon!
Jotted down some (derived) metrics I want to research already! ;-)

Hey @paulag I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thanks for contrubion

good analysis thankss