New Project: Telegram Reply Steem Bot

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Correspondence Through Steem


I realize there are already tools like esteem and busy that let you see replies on your phone and even respond; however, I wanted to provide a different user experience. More than anything, for myself, I needed a more streamlined experience than I was getting via esteem.

That's what this does. It allows me to have a conversation with users engaging my blog on steemit. I can now correspond just like I would in normal text messaging, but with steemit replies.

image.png

Mobile versions also work

image.png

Usage

To get up and running, just open a conversation in Telegram with @steem-replies

Then run the following command:

/start <your steem name> <your steem posting private key>

Once you have done this, the bot will take care of the rest. Your key is not saved or stored anywhere. When the bot restarts, you need to run the /start command again because your conversation will no longer exist (including any of your information).

Technology Stack

Telegram Reply Steem Bot is written in Typescript using the telegraf plugin. All dependencies are encapsulated and prebuilt in the Docker container.

Running

The bot itself is built into a docker image. You can run your own by simply executing:

docker run --rm -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME -e BOT_TOKEN=$BOT_TOKEN r351574nc3/telegram-reply-steem-bot:latest`

The BOT_TOKEN is issued to you through telegram as a way of authenticating with their api.

Installing on a Kubernetes cluster

Getting running in a k8s cluster is easy. Use the helm chart

helm install orchestration/charts/telegram-reply-steem-bot --set steem.name=$STEEM_NAME --set steem.bot_token=$BOT_TOKEN

Roadmap


Tentative upcoming features

  • Upvoting replies from telegram
  • Sending voice messages/video through telegram
  • Sending stickers and images through telegram

Contributing


r351574nc3#7016 on discord

Steem Development on Telegram



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Moar like this!

This is AWESOME work my friend! Will test this out later tonight to see how it works :)

@r351574nc3, Approve is not my ability, but I can upvote you.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @r351574nc3 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Tried this but seems it isn't working for me. I will keep trying. Thanks and looking forward to the updates.

Trying to use the service already out there or trying to run locally?

Not locally. Just following your instructions.. /start <accname> <wif> just says welcome <accname>! But nothing else.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I realize now that there's a typo in the README.

Setup

You can run your own version of this bot via docker container. If you run locally instead of using the existing service, you need to register your bot with Botfather. It will give you an API key which you will use in this command.

docker run --rm -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME  -e BOT_TOKEN=<token from the botfather> r351574nc3/telegram-reply-steem-bot:latest`

I am confused still. Thank you for helping.. I have another question: do I use my steemit account here `r351574nc3/telegram-reply-steem-bot:latest`` instead of yours? and the whole command is run inside a conversation with botfather ?

Correct. You use your name.

When you run /start <username> <wif>, that is the username/wif used when replies will be posted. It will post on your behalf.

Thank you - I went through the process of naming a bot in botfather getting an API token - then I entered the docker command as you suggested. Went back to steem-replies did the /start accountname wif and I have again Welcome mysteemitname!

:-) Thanks but I will try now to delete my botfather bot because it is not working for me. And watch for an update

:-P what he said

See my response to @trumanity

does this still work or do I need to set up my own docker? and steem development telegram seems dead :/

Telegram's not dead, it's just that just me and a couple others are in there. Never got a lot of interest.

Regarding telegram replies, I'm traveling right now. While I was traveling, the server went down. I run my witness and everything out of my research org in AZ. I'm the only one running it. It's really unfortunate that something like this would happen the second I leave. I'll be back later tonight to get the app back up again.

Also, it is OSS, and you can set up with docker, but the idea is that I provide the infrastructure so it's not necessary. Thanks for the interest.

Keep checking in to the telegram.