You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steem Investigations] Transfers #1 - June 14, 2018

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

This is a very interesting mystery. So, you're now a financial investigator. Maiyude means fishmonger in Chinese. Maybe FF Bank means Fat Fish Bank. Fish in Chinese symbolizes abundance. In my opinion, it is an organized group and the distribution center is maiyude. Steemit is based on an oceanic ecosystem ranking hence those involved in the fishing industry (fishermen) or distribution of fishes (fishmonger) are indicating that they are richer and more powerful than whales. That's just my guess of course. I could be wrong.

Sort:  

I didn't look more into the FF Bank as the language barrier prevents me to do more research (and I'm not trusting Google Translate enough to base conclusions on approximative translations). But with maiyude meaning fishmonger, the conclusion I came to seems realistic :
In France, we call tontine (maybe you will know the exact word in Chinese) a system of lending / borrowing imported by Chinese people, where they make private informal loans between immigrants who come from the same region in China.
To promote the growth of the community and allow newcomers to have support from immigrants from their region who are in France since a longer time and have means to support them (to establish a business, or else...), they have a opaque parallel banking system. With the pressure of the families (lender and borrower) still in the native Chinese region, this ensures the reimbursement (maffia style).

I'm not sure what I'm looking at here, but I think it's this kind of arrangement, transposed in Steem (so maybe not that geographically centered). So i'm totally rejoining you in your guess.

I've heard of tontine in my country too. It's known as "kutu" in Malay and 会 (hui) in Chinese. This practice is illegal and often conducted underground. I grew up in a Chinese triad town and seen worse. Loan sharks will chop up people who are unable to repay their debts. Some people will commit suicide before loan sharks got to them.

That's harsh... Money lead to extreme behavious.
Let's not import that here if possible :D

Hehe! I thought mafia in Italy are ruthless too.
They kill people by burying them alive in wet cement then use the material for construction XD