Control your sugar with Home made Muesli and Granola

in #vegan5 years ago

To stay on the health track and to spoil you guys with another really great and easy recipe today.

This one is really simple so why am I bothering to share it? That is answered very easily. But first just go into your cupboard and get the cereal or muesli box you have in there.

I will wait...

go on...

Ok, now that we have that, check on the ingredients and you will most surely find added sugar. Now how does it make sense to add sugar to something that we all think is a healthy breakfast? As part of our overall "eating healthier" strategy I have been checking what contains Sugar and Salt and if there is a way to avoid it. To my surprise there was a whole lot of sugar in my muesli so I decided to go and make my own.

Does your muesli or cereal have added sugars? let me know in the comments

QmacdBUqLjztwaZWY18NuBGue25hXgKhHt5kK3h9cmZjR7.jpg

Traditionally Muesli consists of toasted whole oats, nuts, (fresh or dried) fruit and wheat flakes. Personally I like to add seeds on top of that like sunflower, pumpkin, sesame and chia and I advise you to go and experiment yourself to see what you like best.

So here are my recipes for both the muesli and the granola:

Home made sugar free Muesli recipe
Just take 3 equal portions and mix them up:

1/2x full oats
1/2x oatmeal
1x mixed seeds
1x mixed chopped nuts

Thats how easy it is to get basic Muesli.
For me after that I like to add raisins or cranberries and sometimes dried apricots or shredded coconut. Then add some fresh fruit like strawberries or apple, top off with (almond-/rice-/oat-) milk or yogurt and ENJOY

QmNzs7euNvbm4oz7U5ArgUyLx9ALUivZ33sS9Xkv848szV.jpg

Home made Granola Recipe
for the Granola just take the same ingredients mix from before and then we need to add some extra steps

take a big pan and put it on medium heat and add the seeds. Toast those for a couple of minutes until they start to brown and give off their heavenly smell. Pour them in a big bowl and allow to cool down
after toasting the seeds then do the same with the oats and the nuts. We do this in separately because the seeds are toasted faster than the nuts and the oats. I know from experience, trust me, I have a pan full of burnt seeds to prove it...
add everything in the big bowl and let it all cool down a bit.
preheat the over to 350 Fahrenheit or 170 Celsius

QmUdGTKHBtnxzJ7rU5d4a6vBbbYttT7ZQ76vx3qT8vQqoi.jpg

Mix it all up and then we add:

3 table spoons of Coconut oil

1 or 2 spoons of sweet stuff : honey or coconut- , agave- or maple- or any other syrup

a little bit of vanilla if you like that

Mix everything up till you get it to stick together a bit.

spread everything out on a baking plate and put in the oven for about 20 minutes.

Take it out and let it cool down

Crunch it down into smaller pieces and put it in a big pot and it will hold for about 2 weeks but usually is gone waaaayyyy before that

Are there any secret ingredients that you use or tips that I can try out?

read original article

By.https://steemit.com/vegan/@felander/control-your-sugar-with-home-made-muesli-and-granola

Sort:  

What a great breakfast treat - it looks deliciously yummy