Mushroom, Tomato, Onion and herb Pizza - Vegan and Gluten Free

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

chick2.jpg

Today would be a gluten free day. We're taking a break from gluten. I really have been wanting pizza and this would be the first gluten free pizza that I have made.

I chose the flours that I had available, which were chickpea and oat flour which I milled myself from whole oats. Adding flax meal and enough water to make it a consistency that could be pressed into a spring form pan. I removed it from that pan and transferred to a pizza pan.

chick4.jpg

The oven here has a broken lower element so I put the crust under the broiler by itself on low then removed it to add the tomato sauce.

chick5.jpg

This sauce I made with tomato pasata, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, chili powder, maple syrup, salt, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

chick1.jpg

chick6.jpg

chick7.jpg

After the onion mushroom and tomato was placed on top, it was back under the broiler on low once more. I wasn't going to take a chance burning it on a high setting.

chick8.jpg

chick3.jpg

I love balsamic glaze with tomatoes so I made my own by reducing balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, cane sugar, and salt.

chick9.jpg

I must say I was surprised how delicious this was even on a non typical pizza dough. The great thing is that you don't feel too full after eating it.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my, love the pizza crust idea. I just bought chickpeas and thought I would make flour! This is the 3rd pizza recipe I have seen in two days, must be a sign I need pizza lol! Makes me hungry just looking at this lovely creation, well done!

I guess all of the pizza recipes made me want pizza as well. In fact I could go for more right now haha!

Thanks so much @birdsinparadise!

Wow masroomi s my favourite food

I love them as well!

my friend how are you 'this is very good

Como estas amiga? Gracias!

It looks very delicious and amazing, dear @carolynstahl. Crunchy with a perfect topping. Now after your post and @birdsinparadise comment I am also in the" want some pizza run". 🍕

Haha thanks! I think pizza is a magical food for everyone.

Mouth watering creation !! I love the ingredients you used in the sauce, balsamic always goes well with tomato basil and onion and also all the herb you added!

Aww thanks so much. Pizza is one of those things that is fun you know.

Exactly, there is just so many variations to it.