🥤 Sweet Superfood Dragon Fruit Smoothie 🥤

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers! Today was indeed a special day, today I tried dragon fruit for the first time!


'So what?' I hear some of you cry, well you don't know how long I have searched for this exotic, elusive fruit here in the very un-tropical London town!

121212.jpeg

I've been gazing wistfully at your posts of this beautiful fruit for almost a year now and finally I was able to find one.

I won't tell you how much I paid for it, it was actually insane- far more than I've ever paid for a single piece of fruit, that's for sure! But alas, I wasn't going to let this alien- fish looking wonder out of my grasp.

2222.jpeg


And what an incredible looking creation it is- sometimes nature provides us with things that just look too unreal in their artistry, and for me this is one of them.

1111.jpeg


It seemed a shame to cut into it, but I was so curious to find what colour fruit was inside.

5555.jpeg


Once sliced open, it was easy to pop the inside flesh out. I tentatively took a bite...

6666.jpeg


I'm not going to lie... the taste itself was a little disappointing. I was expecting much more flavour, and more sweetness, but then I had heard that the variety with pink fruit is better tasting.


What it lacks in flavour however is made up for in juiciness and texture, it feels nourishing and hydrating as you eat it.


I had other fruits in the fridge so I decided to add them to the dragon fruit and make a super charged smoothie to set me up for the day!


Ingredients:


  • 1/2 dragon fruit
  • 1/2 apple
  • 3-4 strawberries
  • 3-4 raspberries
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk.

Method:


You know what to do- add ingredients and blitz!

7777.jpeg


Now I know I said I wasn't bowled over by the flavour, but damn was I impressed by the effects of this little guy! I felt so energised and vital after drinking this smoothie and it's no wonder, it packs a massive nutritional punch!

9999.jpeg


Dragon fruit certainly deserve to branded as a super food, check out all of the health benefits 😲

0318771B-B35D-48B2-8275-EC4625D1CE63.png

I wish these were easier to come by in England, if anyone knows where I can find them affordably in the UK I will be eternally grateful! 💗


I hope you liked this post! If you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more travel and vegan food posts.


Sort:  

They are usually quite expensive here, as well! Every now and then I will splurge on something like that, though. The last tropical fruit I gorged on was guava. At least we are pretty close to Mexico, so certain things at least don't have to travel too far to get here to Atlanta! :)

We we're just in Atlanta and ate at R. Thomas's Deluxe Grill for the first time! It's awesome that they have raw vegan food, vegetarian, and wuality meat all in one place. And coconut kefir!

Awesome! That place always gets great reviews, so I'm glad you enjoyed your experience as you popped through Atlanta! Somehow even though I live just outside of the city I haven't made it there yet. I definitely need to rectify that... :)

Ooh that's lucky! I haven't eaten a guava since I was a child. Need to track some of them down too 😀

Dragon fruit is probably the most amazing looking fruit. I'm following you now, and just found you in the Facebook group for steemit. I post a lot about health, and some about vegan recipes, as well as a lot of other stuff. My girlfriend and I just started posting about our travels on her page. Exciting!

Aw thanks so much for the follow, I'll return the gesture 😊 Look forward to reading your vegan recipes!

Dragonfruits are among my daily meals these days - here in Malaysia they have the ones with pink flesh, super delicious!

Great recipe, I can imagine how well the subtle sweetness of dragonfruit goes with the berries.

By the way, did you know that there are great alternatives to plastic straws out there made of glass or stainless steel? Plastic straws fall through the recycling machines and oftentimes end up in the ocean harming marine live. The reusable straws can even improve your taste experience since the plastic often adds a odd flavor. 😉

Greeting from Kuala Lumpur, have a great summer day in London, Lisa!

Aw you're so lucky to have a good supply of them! The pink ones are next on my to-find list. I know, I hate using these straws but I bought them long before I went vegan and started to think ethically and environmentally about my lifestyle so it seems wasteful to not use them now. I definitely won't be buying any more once I've used this pack though! 😃

I know, I can be super grateful for all the fruity pleasures here in South East Asia!

So you are already pretty well informed about the straw situation - that's awesome 😉

Continue with those great recipes and posts 👍

You too! Love your page 😊

Thank you so much, Lisa! 💚

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 2.98% upvote from @upme thanks to @lolzwithlisa! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).