CHOCOLATE BANANA SUPERFOOD MUFFINS | VEGAN, ORGANIC, PLANT-BASED, GLUTEN-FREE, NO ADDED SUGAR

in #vegan6 years ago

IMG_2723 copy.jpg

Hi guys! I'm back! All of our puppies have now gone home and I can finally breathe again, and bake! (I still have some puppies of my own that I'm house training at the moment, but that's for a another post some other time, haha.) So I'm starting off my week with this new guilt free sweet treat: chocolate banana superfood muffins.

IMG_2758 copy.jpg

My favourite part about these is that there's no added sugar. The bananas and coconut flour combined with the cocoa powder give them a rich chocolate flavour with a slight sweet taste. And they're packed with protein and superfoods like walnuts, hemp hearts, cacao nibs and pumpkin seeds!

IMG_2770 copy.jpg

Health benefits of pumpkin seeds

I've covered many of the health benefits in the ingredients that I've used here in my past recipes, and I wanted to focus on the pumpkin seeds in this recipe. With the advent of fall there's been a lot of pumpkin everything scattering social media sites. And well one of my favourite parts of the pumpkin is the seed. It's an amazing superfood, for a number of reasons, and it's one of the many superfoods I'm addicted to, just because I get that boost of energy and feel really good after eating them. And I generally use that as a basis for what to include more of in my diet because it's obviously doing something very good.

So to name a few of the amazing benefits of eating these lovely seeds, they contain zinc which is an immune booster. Moreover they're a good source of omega 3 fatty acids. They help protect against diabetes. And they have anti-inflammatory effects and are loaded with anti-oxidants.

IMG_2698 copy.jpg

This recipe was super easy and only took one bowl and 30 minutes to make. And there's about 100 calories in each muffin.

Here's how I did it

INGREDIENTS

4 ripe bananas
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup cacao nibs
2 tbsp pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
2 tbsp hemp hearts

TOPPINGS

handful of pumpkin seeds, walnuts and cacao nibs

IMG_2658 copy.jpg

DIRECTIONS

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Take a large mixing bowl and mash up your bananas. Then add your coconut flour, cinnamon, sea salt, baking soda, baking powder and cocoa powder and mix well. Next fold in your hemp hearts, cacao nibs, pumpkin seeds and walnuts. Then line a muffin tray with paper cups and spoon in your batter to about 3/4 full.

IMG_2672 copy.jpg

Next sprinkle on your toppings and bake for 20 minutes. Let cool for 10 - 15 minutes. Eh voila!

IMG_2793.jpg

Thanks for reading guys! And I love feedback, so feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Much Love,

Natasha


All photos and recipe are mine and original.

For more about me check out my Introduceyourself

And you can also connect with me on Instagram

IMG_1081.jpg


And for more of my guilt-free sweet treats and other healthy recipes click the links below:

Vegan Butternut Squash Smoothie
Vegan Double Chocolate Superfood Brownies
Vegan Healthy Banana Splits
Vegan Chocolate Chia Peanut Butter Cups
Vegan Poutine
Vegan Chocolate Chip Superfood Granola
Vegan Chocolate Date Truffles
Vegan Chickpea Curry
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cups
Vegan Chocolate Ginger Cookies
Vegan Pizza and Homemade Pesto
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Sources:
https://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/09/30/pumpkin-seed-benefits.aspx


FullSizeRender copy.jpg

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and resteem. And thank you for all your support!

Sort:  

wow. These look incredible. I feel like these are great on the good food. :) much better than fast food ;)

Thanks @vegetarianbaker! That's what I was going for ;)

Really healthy and delicious, what a presentation. Thanks for sharing vegan recipe.

You're welcome! Thanks so much for stopping by :)

I really miss for your recipes here and I'm so glad, that you shared with us this recipe. Good to see you're back! :)These muffins looks very delicious and nutritional. Yummy! :) Btw, you have my follow on Instagram! :)

Aww you're too sweet! Thanks! I've followed you as well :)

Yum, what a fine-looking dessert you've created. We're big fans of pumpkin seeds (pepitas) here. Another point about them is the timeliness, since pumpkins are in their harvest season right now, right on time for Thanksgiving.

Thank you @cabelindsay! That's a very good point :)

These muffins looks so yummy! I love them especially with chocolate, i missed your great recipes, keep sharing with us your delicious food.

Happy to hear that the puppies found loving homes and you are back with your sweet yummies. Missed them so much. Def making these. They look so good!

Excellent, it looks very healthy, I invite you to visit my blog, regards

Excellent, it looks very healthy, I invite you to visit my blog, regards

They look amazing!