Thai Broccoli & Coconut Soup

in #vegan5 years ago

It's broccoli harvest time and most of it is going to seed, because I can't keep up with it. With the man away, there's no way I can eat so much! Hence - soup. We like this one in the summer - the addition of coconut milk and the thai style flavours make it seem exotic to us, like we're on holiday, and it smells divine.

Coconut milk is just a food of vegan gods - it's a perfect substitute for cream and can be used in so many recipes. I think it tastes far better than cream - what do you think?

image.png

Broccoli and Coconut Thai Style Soup

2 - 3 spring onions or shallots
1 - 2 garlic cloves
1 - 2 kefir lime leaves
2 tbsps of fresh sliced lemongrass
A few slices of ginger, chopped
1 tablespoon coconut oil
4 cups water with stock to taste
1.5 heads of broccoli, about a pound
1 - 2 small potatoes
1 cup coconut milk or cream (about half a tin)
A bunch of coriander (optional)
Vegan fish sauce (optional)
A lime, squeezed

Blend the onion, garlic, lemongrass, ginger and kefir lime leaves to a paste. Heat the coconut milk and stir fry for about 3 minutes. Add the potato and water and boil for a few minutes with the lid on. Add the broccoli and put the lid on, cooking all ingredients until tender. Add the coconut milk and the coriander stalks if using, simmer for two minutes, then blend in a food processor with the remaining coriander until creamy.

I garnished mine with toasted pumpkins seeds and toasted coconut - I had run out of crispy fried shallots, which are my favourite garnish ever, but they would have been amazing on top. I also added some fresh chilli to mine, but that's optional too.

Enjoy!



https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmU9f4FK9j91cnUGYk9hnMXuYdAFcnF6ekkpXZ5DfiByfG

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

Sort:  

Hello! I am upvoting service and this post has been found valuable and upvoted. Wish you all the best! :)

Follow @voter01 to get biggest votes in your next posts

This sounds wonderful! I like the lime addition idea. I don't use coconut milk as I love my raw milk and cream. I love creamy soups and broccoli. Most of our broccoli goes into the freezer when it comes in hot and heavy like that. It's one of the few vegs my husband will eat....

I would 100% eat this. Looks/sounds delish!

Wow that looks amazing @riverflows .. I love Broccoli(probably my favourite vegetable) and I even mix it with my smoothie every morning :) On top of that the whole dish looks like just the tasty health tonic I need to get me through this long dark winter .. it's a no-brainer for me! Thank you for the recipe and thank you for the inspiration. I'm going to enjoy making this. :D

Awesome!!! Enjoy lovely. Hubby just arrived in Blighty... suprised his Mum. He will be enjoying cold too I'm sure. Not sure enjoying is the right word haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Our broccoli season is over but I'll bookmark this one and remember it next year!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, opposite ends of season... when it was harvest time in northern hemisphere I.was jealous!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ain't that the way...

Looks tasty...but we are very rare brocolli user ....if I get any for sure will try out the hot soup....
Here we have cauliflower instead of brocolli....

Posted using Partiko Android

oh yum, I will be giving this a good, I do love coconut cream, I use oat cream more though, feel bad at how far the coconut cream has to travel. Oh to live somewhere where they grow xxx

Oh oat cream that's a good idea. Yeah i stress about that too. It's so hard isn't it??

Posted using Partiko Android

I make something almost similar but exclude the potatoes and the fish sauce and add a lot of mint leaves. It's a meal by itself. Thank you for sharing 💚

oh my gosh... i wish someone would just make this for me right now... after a long day working outside in the cold! it looks so tasty.

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.519 which ranks you at #1910 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 431 places in the last three days (old rank 2341).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This looks and sounds delicious! I wish you could pass me some of that broccoli through the monitor! What in the world is vegan fish sauce?

Well it's really a blend of soy and garlic and mushroom and all.sorts of things that gives the umami flavour of a real fish sauce.

Maybe I could dehydrate some broccoli and post it hahahah

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the word "umami" - Every time I hear a chef say it I think that it just sounds so mysterious and gorgeous. I will have to look out for something like that. It sounds like something I would get a lot of use out of.

That's ok - I'll just live vicariously though your garden and food photos for a while.

Umami umami umami

Posted using Partiko Android