Peanut Butter Brownie Bites!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Sharing my very first recipe on Steemit - very exciting! This is one for the sweet tooth - a simple recipe for gooey, rich chocolate brownies packed with lots of peanut butter!

brownies.jpg

I've made batches of these for my friends and family (who btw are not vegans, I'm the lone vegan wolf), and they have gone down an absolute treat!! They couldn't get enough, and couldn't believe they were vegan! A couple of my friends enjoyed them so much that they recreated them at home. And they're not frequent bakers and got on great so you don't need a lot of experience to get these right :)

The sweetness of the rich chocolate brownie is balanced perfectly by the peanut butter, which also adds a bit of crunch!

Personally, I find that one bite-size brownie is never enough, and I always find myself going back for another (or another 5), so I've made mine a little more substantial. I say they're bites but they're more like slabs... Feel free to cut yours to any size you want though of course.

These can be enjoyed on their own, or fresh out the oven topped with a big scoop of your favourite ice cream! Hot brownies and ice cream (dairy free, of course) has to be one of the greatest food combos! When the ice cream melts into the brownies ... * love heart eyes emoji *

You can also freeze these if you want to save them for another day! Just take them out the freezer when you want to enjoy them again, and they will defrost in room temperature in only an hour :)

b2.jpg

b1.jpg


Prep time: 15 minutes

Baking time: 15-20 minutes (depending on thickness/baking tray)

Total time: 30-35 minutes

Serves: 12

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plant-milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 5 tbsp crunchy (or smooth) peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate, chopped

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC.
  2. Whisk the plant milk, vegetable oil and vanilla extract together and set aside.
  3. Mix the flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder, brown sugar and white sugar in a large bowl until combined.
  4. Add the plant milk mixture and whisk together until combined.
  5. Mix the chopped chocolate in.
  6. Grease a baking tray with a little more oil. Add half the brownie mixture and dollop bits of peanut butter on top, using a fork to spread the peanut butter into the brownie mixture a little. Add the rest of the brownie mixture, dollop the rest of the peanut butter on top, and again use a fork to spread it a little.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes (dependent on the thickness) - they will seem under-cooked when first taken out the oven but don't worry, they will harden when they cool.
  8. Enjoy them by themselves, or with a big scoop of dairy-free ice cream :)

Please give the recipe a go and let me know how you get on!! I'd love to hear from you, and even see some pictures of the end result!!

Thanks for reading and have a lovely day :)

brownie plate.jpg

Sort:  

Wow these are looking very delicious!!!! Have to try them out once!

I made some different brownies once and had the same reaction as you.... now one cuold believe me taht they were vegan!!! hahaha this was quite a great feeling to bake something vegan and everyone liking it :D

Another one (or five) lol
I am not into the sweets but, I will be trying this.

Sounds good! I'm definitely gonna try those brownies soon :-)

wow looks very tasty greedyvegan thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

These brownies look very delicious :) I'm not a vegan, but I would like to try them :) so maybe I am going to make them myself
thanx for the recipe

Wow these look so good 🤤 and they're so easy to make! I love them, I make my own peanut butter and I am sure it would work perfectly for this 🌱

Congratulations on your first recipe post, I really love what you did - keep it up, I cannot wait to see more! ⭐️

This looks so decadent! Definitely saving it for my to do's !