Thai Green Curry Patties

in #vegan6 years ago

1..jpg

Thai green curry infused veggie burgers!

These were inspired by the sweet corn cakes from Banana Tree, which are DELICIOUS, so I decided to turn them into a burger with a bit of a twist. Rather than adding the Thai curry flavour as a sauce, I wanted to incorporate it in the patty itself for extra intense flavour!

Not only are the patties delicious, they’re packed with so much goodness as it’s just made from a whole lot of veggies, chickpeas and Thai green curry paste.

Once you’ve blitzed the veggies together, the mixture will seem rather runny, but the flour should firm them up! Once baked, they will be crispy on the outside and still a little soft in the middle.

2..jpg

3..jpg

4..jpg

I layered my burgers up with a little plant-based butter, lots of sriracha mayo, lettuce, vegan cheese (Violife Original Flavour Slices), coriander and extra normal sriracha sauce – but feel free to make yours however you like!! If you have any amazing ideas please let me know for next time!

I made some homemade chunky spiced chips to go with my burgers – coated in salt, pepper, chili flakes and a little chili oil. I cooked these along with the burgers, they take around the same time to cook.

6..jpg

Give it a go and let me know how you get on :)

1..jpg


Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 35 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

Serves: 8 patties

Ingredients

  • 2 cans sweetcorn (165g each)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 6 stems spring onion, sliced
  • 1 pepper, diced
  • 1 big red chili, chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas (400g)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 3 tbsp thai green curry paste
  • 1/2 garlic powder
  • 5 tbsp plain flour

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC.
  2. Put 1 can of sweetcorn, onion, 4 spring onions, pepper, chilli, chickpeas and vegetable oil, salt, pepper, thai green curry paste and garlic powder in the food processor and blend it together until combined.
  3. Strain out access water and add the other can of sweetcorn, the rest of the spring onion, and flour, and mix together until combined. If the mixture still seems too runny, then add some more flour.
  4. Grease a baking tray with some vegetable oil (important – the patties will stick if not greased) and shape the burger mix on the baking tray into patties.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes, turning them over half way. If they still seem a little soft, then put them in for another 5 minutes until they’re crisp and hold together.
  6. Layer up in between two bread buns and whatever you like in your burgers! I put dairy-free butter, sriracha mayo, vegan cheese (Violife), lettuce, coriander and normal sriracha in mine.
  7. ENJOY!! :)

7..jpg

Sort:  

wow. this one looks so yummy. Too bad, Monday and Tuesday is my 48 hours fasting... I need to wait for a long time before I can eat anything.

Thanks!

Wow 48 hours! How come? You will have to have a feast on Wednesday!

Well... Autophagy is the fountain of youth, those who can maximize this cell-recycling process can stay young forever. Wednesday to Friday, I do 23-hour fast. I will feast on Saturday and Sunday. Sometimes, I'm wondering if bread should consider vegan because bread is the end result of yeast eating flour. Yeast can grow similar to animal grow. Yeast also going through the autophagy process when they are starved.

Your burger looks amazing! 🍔

I love green curry paste, but I have never tried it with a burger patty, it sounds so good! 🤤

This would have been a great entry for our #VeganBurgerContest

I have never tried the Violife cheese before, I saw it in the shops the other day. Is it any good? 🌱🧀

Thanks so much :) I thought I would try something a little different, totally experimental but it turned out rather well!
It's my favourite brand - I really struggled to find good vegan cheese's, but they haven't let me down yet!

Wow it looks wonderful ! Thank you for the recipe :)

Congratulations @thegreedyvegan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thegreedyvegan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!