(Mostly Raw) Vegan Fine Dining Made With Love @ The Gate, Hammersmith - London

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

A rare treat for me - a visit to a really great vegan restaurant to enjoy expertly prepared food without any dead animals, fish or dairy... Success!

During my visit to the London Crypto Currency Show, we took time out to find some nice vegan restaurants and The Gate was nearby to the conference hotel in Hammersmith.

Inside the decor is quite reserved and stylish, slightly 'posh' - and the quality of the food matched that vibe. Overall I recommend checking out such high quality restaurants as a way to be inspired and to remember that vegan food does not have to be bland or boring - it can be even more exciting than the other options.

I had the 'Green Dragon' which is a raw main course made to look like some kind of vegetable sea creature or dragon - with a great mix of raw ingredients: Salad of glazed smoked tofu, avocado, sweet potato, red cabbage, pak choi, daikon, carrot, peppers, with teriyaki & sesame dressing.

The gate - Green Dragon

My charming dinner partner went for the Rotolo, a partially raw and partially heated mix of North African style ingredients and European imagination: Pommes dauphinoises filled with vegetables & chickpeas, served with raw cauliflower couscous, pickled lemon & coriander salsa.

The gate - Rotolo

The Gate has several locations in London, including Hammersmith, Marylebone and Islington - If you are in the area, I'm sure you won't regret stopping by.

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

the Gate IS the best.. i used to eat there nearly 30 years ago and it was as amazing then as it is now.. as Michael (the owner) says,,,

"its not a vegetarian restaurant.. its a restaurant that happens to be vegetarian."

Awesome! I was checking out your earthship earlier today - thanks for stopping by :)

ooh wow.. you mean online?

Yes, don't worry - I haven't been stalking you :)

haha.. have a good one mate!

;)
You too!

Those dishes look extremely enticing and just screaming good flavours.

What sort of price point are the meals at The Gate?

You can see the prices of their menus on their website. I don't eat out at expensive places - this was about the top end of what I would pay, but in the grand scheme of prices of restaurants, it's about average for Britain I think.

I am not much of regular restaurant goer these days, but for a quality London restaurant the prices don't look too bad.

Being a vegetarian makes you very healthy, happy and you are even bound to live longer. I'll really love to eat these dishes one day, especially rotollo

Oh yes, it has made a big difference to my health and balance :)

That looks pretty yummy. Just had a vegetarian chili with tortilla chips for my dinner tonight :)

Delicious food , nice food photography . Keep good work .

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @ura-soul

Look delicious am supposed to be going to a vegan restaurant near me soon. I hope it that good 💯 🐒

I've been to about 4/5 in the last few months and they all excelled at something - it's really a joy to have such new experiences of healthy food :)

Great to hear I am struggling with it a the mo as my last post says. Managing at home but not out, small steps 💯🐒

Overall I recommend checking out such high quality restaurants as a way to be inspired and to remember that vegan food does not have to be bland or boring - it can be even more exciting than the other options.

The look of the food doesn't look bored at all and the taste cannot be boring as well... Lol

I'm salivating already.... Hahahah

I want eat it, someday maybe.

The meals looks very rich and delicious in the eye, I love the Green Dragon mix recipe more @ura-soul

Wow !!!
So delicious dinner.. @ura -soul..
I wanna to eat those..

WOW tasty looking foods water in my mouth.

Wonderful this food.i appreciate your recipe
Thanks for sharing healthy food.

I Share your content @resteemit

So delicious dinner @ura-soul.thanks for share this recipe.

@alizafatima99 - You may not realize that "thanks for share" is considered to be spam, you used 50 similar phrases in your last 100 comments, I've replied to you 14 times before, you've received 13 flags, and the Steem Sincerity API shows a 52.50% spam score. Learn why this is spam and a few better ways to earn the support of the community when commenting.

@ura-soul - You can remove this comment and everyone can whitelist me from appearing in future posts.

ham, yamme food.It's good for our health.

@ura-soul you just wettened my appetite. That really looks delicious. You're really living the good life.

first look at the picture, i think it is a grapefruit sir. Apparently vegetables are decorated like fish or other water creatures. I just found out you are a vegan.

Food is maybe the only universal thing that really has the power to bring everyone together. No matter what culture, everywhere around the world, people get together to eat.
Those look delicious, I hope you enjoyed the dinner party. Fish is always tasty as well as healthy.