[Diary of an Expatriate Venezuelan] Part 1 - Motives and plans from now

in #venezuela7 years ago (edited)

Hola steemians!!

A few days ago published a post explaining my journey to get from Lisbon to Madeira after Steemfest 2, which does not explain is that the reason for my trip here were partly to consider moving to this place (since I have DNI and Portuguese Passport) along with some uncles who offered me to stay at their house and even offered their help to help me get a job ... After little more than a week in this place, I decided that I would stay.


Source

Why did I decide to emigrate?

This question for many Venezuelans will be a little obvious, given the situation in which we live, there are few people who really want to stay. But my case is somewhat different, since when I was in Venezuela, I had been awakened by a call ... the call to political vocation, I had the intention of being a politician in my country, to help my people from that space that has been perverted, but of which I am convinced that it was created to serve people, and not themselves.

But in the last few weeks, I've realized that there are other ways to help my country, and other times ... right now you could say that I was in one of those risk situations where you first have to save yourself in order to help others (Like when oxygen masks fall on a plane and you have to put your own first before helping children or other people). And the best way to help my country is to be a professional that can work for it, and even though my university is one of the best in Venezuela, I was not sure how much longer it would be like this, seeing the number of our teachers that they resign every month

What is the plan now?

From now on I am going to focus on studying, finish my career in Computer Engineering, and later work and save some money. I would like to be able to return to Venezuela someday, once the dictatorship has fallen and to be able to invest in my country, to look for other Venezuelans in my situation and to open a company in the computer area (Sincerely, I was always interested in the area of Videogames) .. This in order to help in the economic area of ​​Venezuela. I know it sounds very different from the ones I mentioned about the call to politics, but there are different ways to help, and now that I'm emigrating, I feel that the political way is not the one I should follow. Although I still believe in politics as a space to do good

Of course! I will also dedicate myself to Steemit, this platform changed my life and there is no way I can forget about it. I will continue investing my time here with this great community. Besides this is the platform that will allow me to continue helping other Venezuelans to overcome this harsh situation they are living.

What will happen to the Food For Venezuela project?

The project "Food For Venezuela" will continue to exist at the hands of @thatmemeguy @Mufasatoldyou and other colleagues from my University (who are also users of steemit), a project that will undergo some changes after certain conversations that I had during the Steemfest, starting next payments will be declined, and donations will be requested directly for this project. Why? because otherwise, it would not be a real Charity, we would be profiting from the SP generated by the same post. For this reason, I decided to give 4.5 SBD to @thatmemeguy for the second edition of Food For Venezuela (Note that the post of the same collected $ 4.5, after subtracting 25% of the curators, the remaining amount would have been lower than 4.5 SBD)




I may be out of my country, but I will always be Venezuelan!

Sort:  

Oh wow...big changes! Good luck, I hear Madeira is a gorgeous place.

Hey, thanks! it is a gorgeous place! i just have to learn the language xD

Maybe Portugal is better for now ...

Good luck !

Best of luck with your life abroad, and in supporting your family and friends in Venezuela.