IN ANOTHER WORLD - PHOTOGRAPHING AND FILMING A BABY RED-EARED SLIDER TURTLE UNDERWATER

in #video7 years ago

It has been about 20 years since I was actually snorkeling, but I'm teaching the @little-peppers and getting back into it.


Since steemit has given me an outlet for my passions, I am really enjoying sharing photos and videos of all the wonderful creatures that I enjoy interacting with. To take tings to a new level, I recently invested in a GoPro so I could shoot photos and film underwater.

On this occasion, I focused on a little Red-Eared Slider, that was most likely born last year. To photograph a creature like this in its environment instead of mine was a challenge. Thankfully, a lot of photos can be discarded, and only the better ones featured in posts like this.

THE DIFFICULTIES OF SHOOTING UNDERWATER


Many factors make shoots like this difficult for me. For one, I smoked a lot, of a lot of things, for about a decade. My lungs have still not fully recovered and I cannot hold my breath for that long. Also, this turtle is very fast. Check out this photo of me hot on its tail!

The clarity of the water, the amount of sediment that I stir up, and the speed of this creature all made things a little difficult, but I think that in the end, I got some great photos and a wonderful video. Here is that video.

FOLLOWING THE TURTLE UNDERWATER


In this video, I attempt to follow this turtle while filming. At one point, he tried to hide on the bottom, but eventually I just lift him up to get him going again. You should see how fast he swims after that. The video looks like it is going in fast forward! Also, check out how many sunfish are swimming around as I film. It is truly a beautiful world down there under the surface, and I am blessed to be able to document and share it.

THE REST OF THE PHOTOS


As always I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-being-underwater-with-little-turtle



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

loving your work sir! You seem to take a difficult concept, then work really hard to make it a bit more difficult! I love it.

Wow, a real swimmer haha and cute too. Thanks for the shots

Thank you @charles1!

welcome my buddy @papa-pepper. Since being compromised by 1000 gangstars whales against one minnow(me ) in your fictional movie game, life has been so boring. Need an adrenalin kick action real life like game to join again, when will be the next one?

LOL - The next one will be coming, just have to eliminate the competition.

Great, pls keep me in the loop

LOL bro, you should have added the "Jaws" theme to that video :D

If I knew how, that could work! Thanks @cem!

Lol - that was fantastic!

I knew it haha. Hit me up next time before you post. Matbe we can make something "Magical". Check your discord btw :D

I happily edit it for you mate. Hold on :D

.

wait what?

Really different and unique thoughts u have..appreciate it

Cool, thanks for that! I appreciate the encouragement!

Wow amazing clicks..this turtle must be enjoying its own filming

You are a real hard worker! Great job , I love your work

Thank you so much for that! I appreciate it.

Awesome photo's, I love to snorkel, I find it so relaxing. It replenishes your soul. Thanks for sharing.

Great shots!

Thank you. It took a while, but I had fun with it!

Turtle is a good friend, best sea animal

Theyre gentle and adorable

Love these !!! keep sharing !!!

that turtle is absolutely adorable !

Amazing photography dear @papa-pepper. Great passion!

cool i used to have a pet turtle.

Fantastic shots and a brilliant experience for the little-peppers :)

You, I just remembered that I forgot something... You will have to wait on it...

Oh.. I am scared now :O

I wish someday i will experience snorkling man. Im jealous.

amazing from another world

Truly another world! Very cool to be down there and checking things out!

i must try to another world so amazing papa

Nice video I'm glad you invested in a GoPro I hope to see more underwater videos. Was it a pond, river or where was it record?

It was Lake Bull Shoals on the Missouri/Arkansas border.

Alright thanks for answering

Great shots! Thank you for sharing! @jbcoin

First i thought that taking pics inside water is difficult but when i saw you filming the turtle inside the water it looked like a herculean task and no doubt that the pics you clicked are awesome considering the speed and the way in which it was hiding.

oh man, so adorable!! I love these posts @papa-pepper, it's so cool to see all the animals I never get to see in real life :)

I can imagine photographing and filming underwater must be challenging, seem like a lot of fun though! But I do think these little turtles are a little bit scary, haha, I'd be afraid it might bite :')

They don't want to bite, just to get away. That is their goal. To them, we are big and scary.

Yeah, I guess you're right :)

Seems you found a friend! Turtle Pepper!

Turtle is a very sharp intelligent full of animals .

I just realized how cool and useful an underwater drone would be :D

That would be crazy! Good idea!

I absolutely adore red-ear sliders, so cute! They were my favourite pets, before we got the cat. Thanks for sharing these lovely shots @papa-pepper :D

There are a lot of them around here! I am glad to be able to check them out!

Nice views and the turtle is really awesome. But i was wondering does your phone have a water resistance?

awesome post
i like it @papa-pepper

You definitely have some interesting animals living around where you live are they all local, cheers mike

i would love it if you checked out my page please

Real fun photos! Looks like you had a good time photographing.

aww I had a red ear slider.. he was at least 10 years old, and I named him Pedro! He use to follow me around in the backyard! :)

hi i am folowing you, folow me back and upwote one of my posts like i did for you :)
🖕👍

That is a cute little guy. Thanks for sharing with us. My son, @the-scuba-sherpa, has been practicing his underwater photography with his GoPro for a couple years now. It takes some practice to get good shots. He posts pictures and video from some recent trips. If your are interested, check him out. He posted some cool shark black and whites yesterday and a moray eel this morning. Have a great day!

Bravooooo
Its just wonderful.
a beautiful and courageous work
keep it up

My son's GoPro stopped working after water got into the waterproof casing. But that was an old model. I guess the new cameras are water resistant and come without a housing.

Those are some good pictures, as usual.

@papa-pepper love this a lot...always so excited reading your posts and love your style and swag! this is awesome... guess will be trying my own adventure out filming underwater but can i do it as good as @papa-pepper ? well thats left for my future plans in steemit!

Di aceh binatang itu sudah hampir punah,, harus di budi dayakan demi menjaga kelangsungan hidup mereka,,,

papa-pepper - I was messing around on my computer and made you a little piece of art. Cheers man.

papaturtle.jpg

Very cool! I like it! Thanks!

I thoroughly enjoyed these pictures @papa-pepper . Reminds me of my daughter's pet baby turtles. She had 2, we called them "the twins." We bought them at a sidewalk sale in Downtown LA. They were so adorable and we loved them so much!

Cool! Last time I saw little ones for sale was at a flea market in south Texas.

Yeah, you actually can't buy them at regular pet shops. They might not be allowed to sell them. But, they were so darn cute, we couldn't resist. A little 10 year old girl begging, "please...please!" is a powerful thing. Downtown LA has things for sale on the sidewalks that you won't find other places, lol.

Technically, turtles under 4" in shell length can carry salmonella so stores can't sell them.

Yes, hence the hand washing orders and bottle of disinfecting gel we had next to the tank. Thankfully, everyone stayed healthy. Well, except the turtles. They passed on after about 4 months. My daughter cried. I even shed a tear. They were so adorable.

Super cute turtle <3 o I love turtles :)

Your video teach me about..how i can watch over see
@papa-pepper

Glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you!

wow beautiful

Thanks mate!

@papa-pepper you are really amazing... you really give your best shot for this blog and for the other blogs that you have... amazing... 👍😇👍

GoPros are worth it. The little turtle is soooo cute, nice pictures.

I love your long term purpose of your steemit account :-)

Thank you for that! It is my goal in life and apparently steemit can play a role! Thanks!

You have a new follower now :-)

great shots, underwater world is so much captivating, I truly enjoy this kind of pictures, thanks for sharing.

Another beautiful creation..nice capture @papa-pepper...

There are 2 pages
Pages