Another statue and a really awful handicapped ramp

in #vietnam4 years ago

I wouldn't say that Vietnam is very accommodating to the mobility limited individual. Basically, if you are in a wheelchair you better have some serious assistance because I wouldn't say that the environment is terribly "ramp-filled." Every now and then you will encounter a place that has what appears to be at least an attempt at helping people who might be in a wheelchair but it is pretty crazy the designs these things have.

104734727_609391483043407_6404495248112553266_n.jpg

The first bit is irritating enough because i don't believe it is actually even wide enough to accommodate a wheelchair, but that last bit is just nuts.

105011707_1649828785164497_4099850460755953612_n.jpg

I mean look at that thing! I'm not a physics professor, but is it even possible to get up something that steep on a wheelchair without tipping over backwards? I don't understand why they would do something like this.

I can't say for sure because I did not venture inside but I am hoping that they have elevator access downstairs and if that is the case, why bother with this ramp at all anyway?

Now on to the statue that you can actually see in the background of the first pic. I guess it is ok but certainly not world class.

104827208_678127692753098_2228354149444642013_n.jpg

Is it an old-timey shoe? That's what I first thought. But upon closer inspection it is actually the letter "H" because the hotel it is in front of starts with "H" and the bottom bit is a wave that is crashing into it.

I guess it's ok but to be honest I hope they didn't spend very much money on it because I think it is gaudy-looking enough that it may have been better if they just didn't have it at all.

Sort:  

that sort of ramp would not be allowed in western countries. I think the only way it could be used would be if someone were to drag the person up it. Even then it could be disasterous because the surface looks like it could become slick easily.

yeah i hadn't even factored in the slip factor into the mix. I think that is marble but even if it is just tile if you get just a little bit of water on it you are going to fall for sure.

bad idea. I can see kids (like me when i was a kid) screwing around on that ramp and getting hurt because of it

oh this sort of stuff is all over Asia. They are not required to have handicapped access at all the way we are in USA so they just copy a picture they saw and then realize that an effective ramp isn't actually going to work.

I have seen ones that there was a ramp that just lead to a wall, not the door and other designs that seem like an extreme wheelchair obstacle course rather than something that is actually helpful.

oh wow, you win on danger-factor, but at least that one has a reasonable gradient. How would anyone even help them up that ramp? Walk sideways?

that would be an instant lawsuit where i live